2018.03.04 — Daily Fire Update

Daily Fire
3 min readMar 4, 2018

--

Hey all,

I thought it would be a good idea to put together a fortnightly update on the work I’ve been doing on Daily Fire.

This has been the first two weeks I’ve been working full time on Daily Fire and my focus has largely been on getting the systems in place for future development.

So here goes..

🔥 Roadmap Document

Before I began any work I put together a Roadmap document that outlined:

  • The systems that run Daily Fire and my future plan for them
  • An Implementation Roadmap that outlined the steps I am going to be taking going forward

You can read the Roadmap here.

🔥 Launch New Website

I had been working on a new front-end for several months and I was finally able to launch it to https://daily-fire.com

New Website For Daily Fire: https://daily-fire.com

The new website sports a new look and allows users to view other Daily Fire groups much more easily. I have lots of plans` for the website so keep your eye out for updates!

The site is made with Vue.js and hence I was able to deploy it to AWS S3 and serve it with AWS CloudFront. This allowed me to save some $$$ by not having to pay for, or run, a web server.

Check out the new site here: https://daily-fire.com

🔥 Clean up df-core

Because the front end is now a seperate app (df-web-app) I was able to remove all the front end related code that was in the backend Rails app (df-core).

This was nice! I also did a number of other clean up tasks on both the front end and backend:

  • Migrate from Unicorn to Puma web server for df-core
  • Add Google Analytics to df-web-app
  • Automate deploys for df-web-app
  • Add valid SSL certs for df-web-app and df-core

🔥 Retire df-slack-proxy

Because Slack only allows you to subscribe to all messages for a Slack team Daily Fire could easily be slowed down by having to process many requests it doesn’t care about.

To get around this, I had set up a “proxy” app that listened to the events and only forwarded the ones that were in a daily-fire enabled channel. This app was a Ruby on Rails app and it was a bit overkill for the 1 task it had to perform.

I felt this functionality would be much better suited as a cloud function that only runs when it needs to. This would decrease the overhead of having a server running perpetually and would save me $$$ as I am only billed for the time the function is running.

🔥 What’s next

  • Start work on df-slack-bot (See the Roadmap for more details)
  • A Surprise! I hope to put a landing page up that will showcase something that has been in the works for a little while now. I’m super excited to share it with everyone. But for now, you just get this sneak preview / hint

--

--