UI/UX Competition 101: Steps of the Presentation

Ziel
4 min readMar 12, 2024

--

A brief guide to UI/UX competition presentation

Hi there! Welcome to my Medium, my pen name is Ziel and I strive to share some thoughts of mine and tips in UI/UX design. I am a Computer Engineering student who loves to create and build initial designs of user interfaces on various platforms.

Here I’m sharing a simple 3-minute-read guide to present your UI/UX design prototype in a simple presentation. I’m going to share with you my latest competition submission which got me into third place, so let’s just cut to the chase and begin our tour on my presentation!

P.S. Since I live in Indonesia, some of the words in the presentation are in Indonesian and don’t worry I will translate them for you!

1. Introduction

First thing first, you want to begin your presentation with the required topics from the competition (if required), or not, you can begin with some hookups! Use the main problem or main idea of the theme that you are using for your prototype. For example, I’m creating an education mobile application prototype, so I went for the main problems of nowadays issues.

“Education is one of the main processes in developing one’s potential. Unfortunately, in its implementation, education encounters challenges and shortcomings, including education in Indonesia”

Then you can go for the solution afterwards! Give some real life examples of the problems that is being discussed. In addition, you can also tell them the impact of the main problems. I advice you to use some research papers as reference.

2. Application Introduction

Academiku exists as an educational application that offers many interesting features to facilitate and enhance interaction and participation among educators and learners, thus achieving more effective and quality learning.

Firstly, following the discussion of the drawbacks or challenges, it’s now opportune to elevate the narrative by introducing your application and its proposed solutions to the main problems.

Secondly, you can add the main purposes of the application that you are developing, because the introduction should be fun for the judges to know more about your application!

3. Design Method

In this section, you can show your design method. For instance, I’m using design thinking and I show some steps of design thinking method. You can start explain each steps in general, then you can add more details in the next slides such as what are the empathize steps, define steps, and so on..

4. Explain More..

This section might sounds like “Add some details” in a drawing tutorials.. Because it is! There are a lot of things you need to put in the details of each steps in the design method that you are using. These are the things that are important for you to learn in order to understand more about UI/UX details, you can google it or I will write some following articles regarding this issue. I’m giving you the keywords based on design thinking steps:

Empathize Steps

  1. User Research
  2. Interview
  3. Online Questionnaire

Define Steps

  1. Information Architecture
  2. Problem Statement
  3. Root Cause
  4. How Might We Question
  5. Empathy Map
  6. User Persona
  7. User Journey Map
  8. Research Synthesis

Ideate Steps

  1. User Flow
  2. Impact Effort Matrix
  3. Solution Mapping
  4. Competitor Analysis

Prototype & Test Steps

  1. Low Fidelity Wireframe
  2. Brand Guide
  3. High Fidelity Prototype
  4. Evaluate Design
  5. UX Law
  6. Usability Testing (UT)

5. End of the Presentation

Don’t forget to put your application prototype link in the end of presentation!

I guess that’s all the steps required to build a presentation for a UI/UX competition. I’ll write more details for the steps in design thinking/another method steps in my next articles, stay tuned!

--

--