He Wanted His Last Meal To Be A Lump Of Dirt| James Edward Smith

Daisya Spencer
2 min readSep 4, 2023
James Edward Smith

This is one of the weirder last meals I’ve come across. Normally, I would conduct random, although sometimes weird, searches online to look for true crime topics. This finding was a special case.

Months back, in May, I was watching a comedy-like video where the topic was last meals. If you don’t know, when someone is sentenced to death row, they can receive their last meal before death. This last meal entails anything they could want, for the most part.

I’ll leave a link to a Wikipedia containing a list of death row inmates and their last meals, but an example is Johnny Garrett. After being convicted of the rape and murder of 76-year-old Catholic nun Sister Benz, he was sentenced to death. For his last meal, he requested only ice cream. Or another example is Edmund Zagorski. The convicted murderers’ last meal was pickled ham hocks and pigtails.

I never understood the concept of death row inmates having last meals, which I don’t necessarily agree with, but since neither I nor anyone else has a say in that, it’s always interesting to see how big or small they go with them.

But, back to the story, I was watching this video, and in it, one of the characters mentioned John Wayne Gacy’s last meal, which I was already familiar with. However, they mentioned our topic…

--

--

Daisya Spencer

27-year-old lover of true crime, but will occasionally write about anything else that interests me. YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@DejSpence96