The gift of pain

MORNING PRAYER

Now I wake me up to live!

Miss Daisy
2 min readSep 25, 2020

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

MORNING PRAYER

Now I wake me up to live!

I’ll give life all I have to give;

And if today I face a test,

I’ll hope,

cope,

pray

and do my best.

Wherever I may go today,

May Love’s light guide me on the way.

With each breath and each step I take,

Be with me, Lord, for heaven’s sake.

Amen.

Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

As a kid, I learned to say my bedtime prayers each night:

Now I lay me down to sleep…

As an adult, depression taught me a different way to pray.

I wrote Morning Prayer during a bleak period when sleep was elusive. But hard as it was to get through the nights, daytime was my bigger challenge.

I’m doing fine now, just fine. Through It All, I’ve learned to thank God for both the mountains and the valleys. As it turns out, depression has been one of…

--

--

Miss Daisy

A Transformed Transformer, on the Power Grid, re-minding myself as my words re-mind others