And so it began…

Daisy Kirui
3 min readJun 20, 2022

--

My first interaction with code was on my uncle’s laptop. He had visited and was currently learning programming languages and whatever he was doing on his laptop didn’t make sense but boy was I interested. It seemed so cool to be writing some text on a code editor, the code appearing in different colors and the mind blowing part was its ability to tell a computer what to do and bring webpages and applications to life. The complexity of accessing the internet, not as a user but as a contributor seemed so intriguing and I was immediately captivated.

You know how in Dr. Dolittle, the character played by Eddie Murphy has the ability to talk to animals, well that would be the perfect analogy for what I felt programming was at that exact moment. Well, in this case talking to a computer on a deeper scale and not relying on Graphical User Interfaces. I proceeded to ask him what he was doing and jolted down a couple of notes on what he was explaining, which I’ve come to learn was some basic HTML elements. I kept on nodding my head and saying something along the lines of, “I’m getting what your saying” and in hindsight I had no clue on what he was saying but, aren’t we supposed to fake it till we make it. Luckily he didn’t call my bluff and ask me to reiterate what I had captured in that brief moment. Relief. And so it began…

All this happened during the holiday and after returning to school, I quickly changed my subjects and enrolled for computer class, I was a little bit behind but that didn’t matter, because I was hell-bent on immersing myself into everything computers. Over the next 4 years, I learnt basics of computing, a little bit concerning networks as well as working with different applications such as Microsoft Office Suite package. Although, it was a thrilling space to be, nothing gave me the same feel-good experience I had had staring at my uncle’s laptop.

After finishing school, I made resolutions to teach myself the skill set to “Talk to Animals”. I started learning online, because the internet has all the information one ever needs. Something about Google being my friend. I bought a notebook, created a time table and dived deep into https://www.edx.org/ courses, a platform that allows one to access content on various topics and to self-pace their progress according to their speed of understanding. Moreover I was open to importing knowledge occasionally from YouTube, and being on the right side of twitter to always keep up with emerging tech-trends.. And so it began…

Well now, the year is 2022, and I believe the decisions I make everyday is oriented towards achieving the goal of being a Full-stack Developer. This blog is a tool to document this through sharing experiences and from time to time codes I write and come across.

And so, it has began…

--

--