When You Were Mine

Dale Thompson
4 min readJan 2, 2020

--

You were born on March 11th, 2006 and died on December 30th, 2019. You lived a life full of adventures, fun and good times but also with sadness, grief and loss. You weren’t a pet, but you were a son, best friend, companion, confidant, walking buddy, snuggle monster, problem-solver, protector, social butterfly and furry rock star. It was my honour to be your caretaker and human pushover; you had me the moment I saw you. I felt so much joy in watching you grow from eight weeks old into the majestic creature you became.

Every moment spent with you was like the first breath of life, even when I was upset with you. I want to take credit for how you turned out so perfect, but that was all you. From teaching yourself to be potty-trained to breaking up fights in the dog park, you led a life of always making me proud. You were a retriever that didn’t retrieve, but I loved that you didn’t buy into being a follower. You grew big, strong and mythical, more like a polar bear than a dog, but that’s what made you unique. The day “Mitzie the Rat-Faced Dog” couldn’t push you over in the park still makes me smile. You loved life more than any person or animal I ever met.

You stole food off my plate, and I pretended not to notice. I gave you extra treats to watch your tail do the famous helicopter twirl. You were a lover of pancakes, avocados and mangos. You forgave me for forgetting you at the store once, but I know you rolled your eyes too. You inspired me to solve problems, create new ideas and see the world differently. You met Paris Hilton, Aaron Eckhart, Robert Pattinson and a Governer General on your travels and had no clue who they were. I’d watch people smile as you walked towards them, that never got old. There wasn’t a puddle, pond, stream, river or lake you didn’t sample.

You acted like you disliked your cat brother, but we grieved together when he passed on. You stood by my side when I became sad, depressed and almost gave up. You were stubborn, determined and fiercely independent but always came to me for solace during a thunderstorm, fireworks and loud noises. I called you Smurphy and Bubby and, yet, you still responded. You always forgave me for having bad days or not always being my best self. You saw me at my highest and lowest, but you accepted my flaws. People thought we kinda looked alike, but I could never look as regal or adorable as you.

We had marathon treks in the city, which usually ended with both of us taking naps afterwards. There was that magical walk on a foggy night when I realized you caught up to me in age. You sauntered on the sidewalk like Marilyn Monroe, which made people giggle. You once provided free entertainment to dozens when you stole a bag of pastries from a man in front of a tour bus. You met thousands of people in your life and left hair or drool on most of them. You remembered every single place where you found free food in public. That time the squirrel fell on your head in the park. You knew I was a lousy dancer, but you laughed when I did it for you anyway. I regret not kissing you more, leaving you alone at times and for saying f*ck more than I should’ve around you. You came with me on my honeymoon, enough said.

You know I would’ve taken on your cancer from you if I could’ve. You were an anomaly for not only loving your visits to the vet but enjoyed getting a needle. Your last gesture was to stop me from crying before your final breath. I often wonder if you understood when I asked you to wait for me on the other side. Did you know how much I loved you and how my heart was going to break when you were gone? Maybe you knew that I tried my best, but I secretly beat myself up when I failed. I didn’t know unconditional love until we met.

Thank you for choosing me as your guide through life, and I hope you had fun and remembered the good times we shared. You were often the teacher instead of the pupil. Don’t ever feel bad for me either; you trained me to be a better person. I’ll wear your tag around my neck, so you’re always close to my heart. You’re free, healthy and pain-free now, so have fun and pick a beautiful spot in the grass for both of us. And, of course, I’ll miss you every single day until we meet up again.

--

--

Dale Thompson

Creator of some pretty cool things. Lucid daydreamer and tech geek. My ambitions outweigh my talent, my talent exceeds my conformity. Lover of UX/UI/AI/Branding