Why I Wake Up at 5 AM Everyday

Benefits that come from starting your day before everybody else does

Damian Schulze
6 min readDec 20, 2021

Have you ever been angry at yourself for waking up at noon and missing out on the entire morning? Well, I felt like that for a pretty long time.

Throughout my teenage days I used every opportunity I could get to sleep in. Leaving bed and eating breakfast at 1pm was the dream (don’t judge me).

I hated waking up early. I always pitied people who needed to get up before sunrise. In my eyes there was nothing important going on at that time of day anyway, so why bother waking up? Contemplating on the beliefs I had back then, I can only shake my head for I was blind.

I never thought there was a chance that one day I would identify myself as a morning person. I thought wrong.

Adapting the habit of waking up early and building a morning routine served me as the most powerful tool against unproductiveness, laziness and inefficiency. It also came with tons of mental and emotional benefits. But more on that later.

If you already are somebody who loves waking up early you have most likely experienced the following benefits I will be pointing out. And if not, please let my try to convince you.

--

--

Damian Schulze

A boy from Germany trying to figure out who he really is. I’ll be writing about personal growth, travel and tennis.