The Importance of Corporate Culture

Danya Ammar
2 min readJul 29, 2019

--

Many people find it difficult to wake-up everyday and find the motivation and energy to go to work. Being glued to a desk for 8 hours everyday was never considered an exciting activity for anyone. The importance of having a motivating and positive work environment is crucial to one’s contempt and comfort. In fact “Positive culture is a vital aspect of running a business–more than 50% of executives say corporate culture influences productivity, creativity, profitability, firm value, and growth rates.”

The University of Ottawa’s eHub has allowed to be a part of a positive corporate culture that has pushed to work hard and achieve all my goals. On a daily basis, I work with different companies from different backgrounds in a collaborative environment not restricted by any cubicles or distracting flickering fluorescent lights. The energy of the space and my Thawrih family make my first CO-OP work-term experience memorable and motivating.

eHub at the University of Ottawa

During the weekdays, the eHub organizes different activities for the companies to take apart in such as socials and discounts to different sporting events. As everyone in this space is super hardworking, it’s nice to take a break once in a while to help boost productivity. Being surrounded by people as motivated as you and that encourage to set daily goals is important for your mental health and ambition in the business and tech world.

On Wednesdays, the office participates in the Yoga events hosted on Parliament Hill. Doing Yoga at noon helps us zone our ideas and focus on our positive energy for the rest of the working day. I’ve learned that being engaged in participating in different activities has pushed my productivity by a lot and has helped me with my positive attitude. I love my job and I can say that proudly with no hesitation, and I enjoy working with everyone in this office who have already seen more of life than I have. The positive corporate culture that the eHub and Thawrih give me is something that I will always be grateful for.

I’m excited to see where my last month of working here will teach me, and how I can apply experience and knowledge further in the future. Thank you to all the companies who manage to push me, and help me whenever I need it, to the RBC CO-OP program, and a big thank you Sarah Abood and Sami-Hefzi Dabliz, the founders of Thawrih, for giving me the best experiences of my career so far!

--

--