How to Recognize Tech Gatekeeping, and How to Ignore it (or Stop It)

Photo by Eduardo Garcia-Nieto on Unsplash

The original definition of gatekeeping is “to block unwanted or useless things by using a gate.” Recently it’s definition has expanded to mean deciding “who does or does not have access or rights to a community or identity.”

Let’s say a friend of mine says they just saw Star Wars. I, a Star Wars fan, am excited. A new fan! Fantastic! So I ask which one. “The Last Jedi!” my friend says. “What? That’s not Star Wars! Any real Star Wars fan will know you have to watch A New Hope, Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi.”

I just told my friend he could never be a Star Wars fan because she hasn’t seen what “real” Star Wars fans see.

Gate-Keeping in Tech

Gate-keeping in technology is an issue that needs more attention. It discourages junior developers from learning; limits companies from hiring; and creates a toxic atmosphere that stifles innovation, collaboration, and growth.

It’s even becoming encouraged in some circles.

Early on in my career, I was bombarded by the mantra “HTML isn’t a programming language.” Yes, technically that’s true. Neither is JSON nor Markdown. But typically the phrase is meant to instill a career reality check into someone who just opened an HTML file with <h1>Hello

--

--