Why You Should Still Learn C in 2024 and 2025

C (a language that has been around since the 70's) has changed very little since the early 00’s. Compare that to languages like Python and JavaScript that change faster than developers that keep up with them, and it’s easy to overlook C as archaic. However, C (and it’s derived language, C++) is a vital language very much in use today. In this article, I’ll discuss why it’s important to learn (and know) C and C++ in 2024 and 2025.

CGI rendering, hyper realistic, golden letter C in serif font, lying horizontal on a pedestal, surrounded by confetti and lights, cinematic

Before I begin, if your team is looking for a tech lead to take your product to the next level, I’d love to help you out! I have over 12 years of software development experience and I’m open to work. To set up a time to chat, send and email to jordan@damngood.tech. Visit https://damngood.tech to learn more about me and discover free resources for your team.

Without further ado, why is C Still important in 2024?

C Is the Basis of Most Modern Programming

Doesn’t matter if it’s Node, Python, golang, or PHP…more than likely the language is written in C. Which…

--

--