Dunkin’s New Tomato Pesto Grilled Cheese Review

Stanley Tucci eat your heart out

Dan Ulanoff
2 min readJun 10, 2022
Photo by Author

Dunkin’ Donuts is America’s beloved home for Italian culinary classics. From the jelly-stuffed donuts straight from Naples to the Omelette Bites almost as good as Nonna makes, Dunkin’ always brings the taste of Italy home.

Despite Dunkin’s reputation for delicious Italian cuisine, my first thought after watching a promotional video of pesto being smeared like butter on a slice of bread was, “I will not like this.” I am only a man and therefore make mistakes.

Leaving Dunkin’ and passing by the local strip club, I was reminded of how my ancestors must have also made the pilgrimage for meals of great import. As I opened the shy sandwich's cardboard case, I was greeted by a sweet aroma, much like the waves of the Adriatic itself, and a glistening waterfall of cheddar cheese. When I bit into this warm and heritage-filled sandwich, I was immediately transported to the streets of Venice. The sounds of a bustling courtyard and water crashing onto the pavement played in my ears. Oil and grease danced in my mouth as I passed through crunchy sourdough, sweet tomatoes, savory pesto, and decadent cheese.

It was a very salty sandwich but one that was comforting and rustic. I ate it almost meditatively, slipping in and out of consciousness as tomato and pesto floated me along the river of the void. Or it was just a relatively tasty sandwich. Either way, when I cleaned off my glistening, grease-covered fingers, I felt renewed and my belly full.

After returning to reality, I realized how lucky I was to sample such incredible food from not only Dunkin’ but other remarkable regions as well, like Wendy’s, Taco Bell, and White Castle, each with their distinct flavors and traditions. With my experience as a connoisseur of such delicacy in mind, I think I can confidently recommend this sandwich to any person who desires an experience that feels both deeply Mediterranean and inexplicably Dunkin’.

--

--