Chasing Redemption: 2023 Victoria Ironman 70.3 Race Report.

Daniel
4 min readJun 1, 2023

--

Sunday, May 28 , 2023 — a day of anticipation and redemption. A year had passed since my quad injury, forcing me to DNF before I could commence the run. The last time I completed this race was in 2019, before the pandemic. Today marked my return after another year of training, recovery, and patient waiting.

Waking up at 3:30 AM, hitched a ride to Hamsterly Beach, arriving with plenty of time to prepare my transition. I walked the transition lines, getting a feel for my quickest route. The location of my bike, way in the back next to the swim exit and run entrance, wasn’t ideal, but I was determined to turn it into an advantage.

The 1.9 km swim started strong. I felt good and comfortable, even managing a quick warm-up swim before the race. However, the positioning wasn’t ideal. Placed too far forward in the pack, I lost the opportunity to draft, which left me battling sparse water for a considerable part of the swim. Nonetheless, I powered through, felt strong and finished the swim in 38 minutes and 33 seconds.

Swim segment stats from Strava.

Transitioning to the 90.4 km bike, my day only improved. My Wahoo Rival + Bolt Touchless transition worked like a charm (first time), and my early morning diligence of loosening my helmet and testing shoes paid off for a smooth T1.

The bike leg wasn’t without its hurdles; my hands were freezing for most of the ride due to the overcast, and I had a few instances of congestion due to traffic in Sidney and an accident at the top of Willis Point. Despite these, I kept a steady pace, completing the bike in 2 hours and 43 minutes.

Bike segment stats from Strava.

As I headed into T2, the run ahead of me, my legs felt shaky, but the sensation didn’t last long. Soon, I was off on the final leg of the race, a 21.08 km run.

The feeling of being passed by the speedier runners in the first lap gave me motivation, but by the second lap, I was the one doing the passing. Despite an unexpected porta-potty stop in T2 that added a ~ minute to my time, I ended the run with a solid 1 hour and 32 minutes.

Run segment stats from Strava.

As I crossed the finish line, I looked at the clock — 5 hours and 1 minute. I had missed my sub-5-hour goal by a small margin. Despite this, the race concluded on a high note. I also earned myself the new nickname 501 Dan.

From left to right; moments after finishing learning my official time was 5:01:41, me and coach Kylie, medal bite.

In a surprising turn of events, I clinched a roll-down spot for the 2023 Ironman 70.3 World Championship in Lahti, Finland, a prospect I had not anticipated.

Looking back, I realize there’s always room for improvement. For instance, finding a more efficient way to carry my gels during the run or checking my time earlier during the race to gauge my pace better. But most importantly, this race taught me to always believe in myself.

This year, I not only finished the race but also qualified for the world championship, a feat that seemed distant in the face of last year.

As I gear up for my next challenge in Switzerland, I’ll carry the lessons I learned. I’m more ready than ever to face whatever comes next, and I can’t wait to see what I can achieve.

Next Up: July 9, 2023 · Ironman Switzerland 140.6

About Dan: I’m an entrepreneur with experience in various industries, including fintech, real estate, and performance marketing. Most recently, Co-Founder and COO at Billi Labs (exit), and VP Operations at Pretio Interactive (exit).

I am passionate about endurance sport and exploring the intersection between technology, health, and performance.

Connect with me on Website, Strava, LinkedIn, and Twitter.

--

--

Daniel

Fintech Entrepreneur, Plant-Powered Endurance Athlete. Exploring New Paths. 🇨🇦 🇬🇧