Race Report: Ironman 70.3 World Championship — Lahti, Finland

A Journey of SISU at the Ironman 70.3 World Championship

Daniel
10 min readSep 2, 2023

Race Date: August 27, 2023 // Bib: 698
AG: M40–44 // Strava Links: Swim, Bike, Run

Logistics and Race Venue

The Ironman 70.3 World Championship 2023 took place in the picturesque town of Lahti, Finland, a location that added an interesting layer of logistical challenges to the race experience. One of the immediate hurdles was the limited accommodation options in Lahti, which prompted many athletes, including myself, to opt for staying in Helsinki and commuting to the race venue daily.

The daily commute became a routine for us, involving a train ride from Helsinki to Lahti and, when we didn’t have our bikes, a short scooter rental. Initially, this arrangement seemed manageable, but as the race week progressed, the daily trek began to take its toll.

On the morning of the race, the journey started early. We boarded a specially chartered train at 4:45 AM, and the train was buzzing with athletes and spectators from Helsinki. To make the most of the long commute, I had prepared a playlist in advance. It started with mellow tunes and gradually ramped up over the course of the ride. Surprisingly, listening to music before a race was a novel experience for me, but it helped me establish a unique rhythm, simultaneously relaxing and motivating me for what lay ahead. Remember the Name by Fort Minor feat Styles of Beyond was one main tune that helped get me pumped up.

Upon arriving at T1, I encountered a brief moment of panic. My bike was missing from its spot, and it wasn’t where I had left it the afternoon before. A rush of worry washed over me. However, I quickly realized my mistake — I had hung my bike at the wrong number. I was assigned number 698, but I had inadvertently placed my bike at 689. After this momentary panic attack, I located my bike, loaded up my nutrition, pumped up the tires, and began the 10-minute walk to the swim start, feeling anxious and excited.

The Location — Lahti, Finland

Lahti, nestled amidst serene Finnish landscapes, provided a captivating backdrop for the Ironman 70.3 World Championship. The town’s charm and pristine surroundings made it an ideal setting for this massive event, which boasted over 6,500 athletes, not to mention the multitude of spectators and volunteers that surely pushed the total number well beyond 10,000 people.

Despite the logistical challenges stemming from limited accommodation options, Lahti’s unique appeal more than made up for it. What added to the town’s allure was the presence of lush greenery and a stunning lake, creating a picturesque backdrop for the race.

During my time in Lahti, I had an unexpected encounter with none other than Kristian Blummenfelt, a renowned triathlete. Our paths crossed at the bottom of the famous Ski Ramps, and I found myself sharing a memorable swim session while he was a lane over. This unexpected experience added to the overall charm of Lahti and made this event all the more special.

Swim

The swim leg kicked off smoothly for me, and I adhered to my pre-race ritual, downing a coffee gel to kick-start my race day. Just as the pros dove into the water, a light rain began to fall. Initially, I dismissed it as a minor inconvenience that wouldn’t linger.

As I positioned myself in the crowd, inching closer to the familiar beep-beep-beeeeep at the start, I checked the time — 7:48 AM. This time check served as a reminder that I needed to cross the finish line by 12:48 PM to achieve my sub-5-hour goal. I’ve learned from experience that verifying the actual time can be crucial in case of any tracking issues.

The race start presented an interesting challenge. We had the option to either dive or jump into the water, and most participants seemed to prefer the latter. Having never practiced diving, I joined the jumpers. The platform was a few meters high, making it no small leap to begin the race. The initial jump had an unexpected effect on my goggles, creating an odd pressure that pushed against my eyes. For a brief moment, it felt like they were squeezing my eyeballs out. However, after a few minutes, they adjusted on their own, and I finally settled into a rhythm.

Throughout the swim, my pace remained consistent, averaging around 2 minutes per 100 meters. The total swim leg was 38:46. It might not have been the fastest, but it felt sustainable. While I didn’t encounter any notable incidents with other athletes, I also didn’t find opportunities to draft off anyone, swimming through the clear waters of Lake Vesijärvi.

Transition 1

T1 proved to be quite long (4:28) due to the run from the swim exit to the bike gear area and another lengthy stretch from the bike gear change zone to where my bike was stationed.

Upon emerging from the water, I was met by the wetsuit peelers, and they were lightning-fast in helping me shed my wetsuit. After the quick change, I set off for the run to where my bike was located.

In hindsight, carrying my shoes during this transition could have made the run more comfortable, especially considering the cobblestone ground with bike shoes can be less than ideal.

What’s worth noting is that despite the initial foggy weather, I opted to leave my gloves, jacket, and arm warmers behind. It didn’t seem too cold at the time, which turned out to be a foreshadowing of what was to come later in the race.

Bike

The bike leg started with a strong rhythm as I settled into a smooth cadence. Surprisingly, my pace held up well, and I was feeling confident. However, I remained fully aware that this comfort could change once we hit the challenging hills on the course.

Around the 20 km mark, a light rain began to fall, and within moments, it transformed into a relentless downpour. The raindrops blurred my vision as they clung to my glasses, which I had initially kept on my helmet. In pursuit of maximum aerodynamics, I decided to put them on, even though the skies were overcast, and I didn’t necessarily require them. I knew that every watt counted in a race of this magnitude.

Navigating the tight corners in the pouring rain added an extra layer of complexity to the race. Everyone, including myself, became extra cautious as the slick roads demanded it. The increased frequency of braking was necessary to ensure safety, but it also made changing gears more challenging, especially with my freezing-cold hands.

Opening my gel packs also became a tricky task, and I found myself squeezing them in my fist, hoping to extract every drop of fuel, in contrast to my usual meticulous approach.

The concern about drafting loomed over the race due to penalties issued during the women’s race the day before. To avoid any potential infractions, I maintained a safe distance from other cyclists throughout the race. While there were rumours of pelotons forming later on, I didn’t personally witness any such behaviour. The consistent presence of race officials at intervals along the course served as a strong deterrent against drafting.

I couldn’t have been happier with my bike leg performance, achieving an average speed of 35.53 km/h and completing the rolling 90 km course in 2:31:11. This accomplishment has now set a new target for me — to aim for a bike segment under 2 hours and 30 minutes in my future half distances.

Transition 2

T2 proved to be trickier than T1, primarily due to my fingers being almost completely numb. As I attempted to tie my shoes, I quickly realized that this was going to take longer than expected. My fingers were so numb that I couldn’t even feel where they were pressing on the laces. At one point, I contemplated asking a nearby volunteer for assistance but wasn’t entirely sure if that was within the race rules.

I tied them up as best I could and knew I could make necessary adjustments once I warmed up on the run. There was less running involved in this transition than I initially anticipated, but I still spent a solid 6 minutes and 17 seconds in T2 before heading out on the run.

Run

As I transitioned to the run, I was feeling strong and confident. The nutrition plan I had dialled in during the bike was working well, and I was meticulously calculating my pace. I understood that maintaining my speed was crucial in achieving my sub-5-hour goal, so I pushed myself, fully aware that every second would count.

However, a familiar nemesis reared its head once again: shin splints. It started with a dull ache in my right shin and slowly crept into my left, growing increasingly painful. I debated whether to stop and attempt to massage them, but I held out hope that they would improve as I warmed up.

The gradual uphill section out of transition felt manageable, but the downhills aggravated my shin splints, prolonging the discomfort. This course seemed to have a lot of downhill segments, which happened to be my weakness on the run. Fortunately, the shin splints began to subside by the time I hit the 6–7 km mark.

From that point on, the run smoothed out, and I utilized the aid stations primarily for water to wash down my gels. Throughout the run, I was constantly crunching mental numbers, ensuring that my splits were on pace.

My calculations were reaffirmed when I spotted Klaudia, and she yelled encouragingly, “You’re going to make it!” She knew what my goal was, and this was a helpful motivator.

In the last few kilometres, I decided to go for a Red Bull, but I quickly regretted it. Nevertheless, I refocused.

Finally, after conquering the extremely steep uphill bridge to cross the road for the third time, I made the right turn toward the finish line and entered the finishing chute. My time on the run averaged 4:22 per kilometre, totalling 1 hour, 31 minutes, and 49 seconds.

As I approached the finish line, I glanced back at the timing line, and I couldn’t quite believe it. I had banked about 7 and a half minutes, crossing the finish line at 4 hours, 52 minutes, and 30 seconds, beating my 70.3 performance in Victoria by approximately 9 minutes. It was certainly a moment of personal triumph.

After Thoughts

Upon returning home and taking some time to reflect, I’ve come to appreciate the advantage of starting this race in the first wave. It not only spared us from significant athlete traffic but also, given the large field of over 3,500 male competitors, I heard that congestion became a notable issue for those in later waves. Furthermore, our wave had the added benefit of experiencing a longer stretch without rain compared to others who had to endure it throughout.

This race encapsulated the essence of “SISU” — the Finnish concept of unwavering determination, resilience, and courage in the face of adversity.

I’m genuinely thrilled with my overall result. My initial goal was to finish in under five hours, and I comfortably achieved my goal by over 7 minutes. While there are always opportunities for small improvements, I gave it my all and pushed myself as best I could, given the conditions.

The week presented its challenges, but the hard work and preparation paid off, making the Ironman 70.3 World Championship in Lahti, Finland, an unforgettable and rewarding experience, where SISU was not just a concept but a driving force.

About Dan: I’m an entrepreneur with experience in various industries, including fintech, real estate, and performance marketing. Most recently, Co-Founder and COO at Billi Labs (exit), and VP Operations at Pretio Interactive (exit).

I am passionate about endurance sport and exploring the intersection between technology, health, and performance.

Connect with me on Website, Strava, LinkedIn, and Twitter.

--

--

Daniel

Fintech Entrepreneur, Plant-Powered Endurance Athlete. Exploring New Paths. 🇨🇦 🇬🇧