Remote Learning Round-Up: Mindset

Dana B Silverberg
6 min readMar 28, 2020

--

I am in a weird spot. As a school psychologist, the work I do with students, be it psychological testing, screenings for well-being, or classroom consultation, does not translate very easily to virtual classrooms. In the span of a month, the world has turned upside down. I had read rumblings of COVID-19 leading to school closures. I never thought that this could mean shutting down school for the foreseeable future. The doors shut initially on March 13th for us in Massachusetts. They said we would be back on March 30th. Then April 7th. Now they are saying May 4th (May the 4th be with us), I doubt that to be the case. States nationwide are announcing schools will be closed for the remainder of the year. Learning is moving to the digital, remote world, and we are figuring it out as we go.

Working as a mental health provider in schools, my primary role is to offer support to educators and students alike. I do this by helping my students access learning in a way that fits their own individual needs. A classroom is not a glove-fits-all experience. We cannot assume anything about the environments our students are now learning in. I feel like since we accelerated into distance/remote/virtual (whatever your district is calling it) learning, there has been a deluge of resources, opportunities and experiences. I am overwhelmed by the nonstop flooding of information.

I have been creating themes to organize the resources I have come across, some geared towards teachers, others catered towards families. Some are just articles I have read or visuals I have seen that resonated with me. This is how I am attempting to navigate remote learning. I am taking the downpour of information and filtering it into manageable buckets (I live for a good metaphor, I cannot help myself).

I thought starting with mindset seemed appropriate. Mindset is a collection of thoughts and beliefs that shape your view of reality. After all, shifting our own mindsets is the first step in preparing ourselves to tackle remote learning. A positive attitude and a flexible mindset are key to make the online transition as smooth as possible.

Articles

These articles I have read helped me to bridge the necessary shift in mindset to tackle this pandemic:

Teaching Through a Pandemic: A Mindset for This Moment (Edutopia)

Empowering Our Minds Against a Pandemic (Psychology Today)

Managing the Stress and Uncertainty of Coronavirus (Harvard Business Review Podcast)

How to Keep the Greater Good in Mind During the Coronavirus Outbreak (Greater Good Magazine- UC Berkeley)

A Brain Hack to Break the Coronavirus Anxiety Cycle (NY Times)

Instructional Resources

These educational materials help introduce the idea of a growth mindset to your child/student. These are all things kids can do to expand their understanding.

Growth Mindset Lesson Plan for Grades 6–8 (Common Sense)

Growth Mindset Mini-Lesson (NearPod SEL)

Growth Mindset Coloring Sheets

25 Instant Family Positivity Boosters (Printable by Big Life Journal)

Growth Mindset Themed Children’s Movies

The Power of Yet (Sesame Street); Follow up prompt for writing: Think about a time when you could not do something well. Describe the time. What feelings did you have? Why is it important to believe in yourself?

Bruno Mars and the Growth Mindset (Sesame Street); Journal Prompt: Ask the following question: Where can you use the power of “yet” in your own life? Have students make a poster of one thing they have not learned — yet.

Growth Mindset Reflection Worksheet (Understood for All, Inc)

Questions to ask your students/children that encourage growth mindset (Understood for All, Inc)

Visuals

These are some visuals that have appeared on my Facebook feed the last few weeks and made me think.

Source: Brooke Anderson
source: www.firstnationscounselling.com
Source: The Counseling Teacher
Source: Believe PHQ

Additional Resources & Research

These are additional resources on a growth mindset that are more generalized pre-COVID-19, but are still excellent resources.

General Resources

Resources for Educators

Infographics, Posters, & Charts

If you know of any materials related to learning about or teaching mindset, please share in the comments. I am always eager to learn more (after all, I got to keep that growth mindset)!

Next time I will be doing a deep dive into creating schedules and routines.

--

--

Dana B Silverberg

I work as a school psychologist in the Greater Boston Area. I am passionate about mental health in schools and educating others about learning differences.