Dana Dargos
3 min readMar 26, 2023

--

Dread to Delight: My Ramadan Transformation Journey

Ramadan Karim!

Another year has gone and passed, and another has swiftly unfolded before our eyes, reminding us of the fleeting nature of time. Having said that, it’s important to remind ourselves of what a blessing and privilege it is to be able to participate in another Ramadan this year. Just because the world moves forward at a rapid pace, does not mean that it depends on our presence for its progress. A lot can happen in a year, and it can happen without warning. Death, illness, and unexpected changes can alter our lives in an instant. And yet, we still assume that we’ll live to see tomorrow. Life is a short, timely gift, and we should remind ourselves of that more. I know I definitely can!

In past years, I admittedly had mixed feelings when Ramadan was approaching. I’d look at the calendar and feel dread — the inability to eat, the fatigue, the forced self-control I’d impose on myself, physically, mentally, spiritually, etc. Plus, it would occur at a point of the year in which everything would usually pile itself up on top of the other and I was already emotionally and mentally exhausted. I wouldn’t want to deal with anything or put any more pressure on myself, including fasting. The physical and mental challenges of fasting were daunting, and it often came at a time when life felt overwhelming. But on the other hand, I knew that Ramadan had transformative…

--

--

Dana Dargos

Award-Winning Lebanese-American Author of “Einstein in the Attic” https://www.danadargos.com