The Lord is Close to the Brokenhearted

Danae Woodall
2 min readApr 19, 2016

--

The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. Psalm 34:18

There is a verse in the bible that keeps running through my mind.

My tears have been my food day and night, while people say to me all day long, “Where is your God?” Psalm 42:3

My tears have been my food day and night too. I am sure people are wondering where my God is.

Nothing has been more gut wrenchingly painful and disorienting than what we are experiencing right now.

My own bible verse might look like this:

My tears have been my food day and night, my bones do not stop shaking, my eyes have not seen rest. But I cannot see with my eyes what my spirit knows is true in you Oh Lord. You are my comforter. You are my rest. You are my hope. You are my deliverer.

My dear friend Liane had a word for me the other day. She kept seeing this picture.

She said: You are in the midst of a raging storm. It’s a large hurricane. All around you is chaos and winds that could pick up your life and slam it to the ground destroying your entire family.

But you are in the eye of the storm.

You can walk into the storm if you like, and be destroyed. You can stare at the storm if you like and lose your peace. Or you can look up and keep your eyes on Jesus. While the storm rages around you, you cannot be moved. You keep your eyes on Jesus and follow where He leads.

He will protect you. He will lead you out of the storm. He has you.

My heart is broken. My spirit is crushed beyond recognition. I do not recognize the sad sounds that come out of my mouth at night when I’m praying and soaking my pillow with tears.

But no one can tell me that God does not love me. Nothing can remove the truth from me. And although I am broken. I sing His praise. And although I do not understand, I know He is the way the truth and the life and He has my boys. He has me.

“Yet what we suffer now is nothing compared to the glory he will reveal to us later.” Romans 8:18

“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38

--

--

Danae Woodall

I don’t have words right now to explain this blog. My beloved son died and I’m trusting the Lord.