Thai Drama Review: Enigma (2023)

As long as we believe it, it’ll become true.

nana.
7 min readAug 24, 2023

Don’t get bored with my Thai drama review. I think GMMTV in 2023 produced many interesting series. Enigma was one of it. This is one of the series that exceed my expectations. I never thought this series would be so exciting to watch and explore more about it. First impression watching the trailer I’m not really interested and looking forward to this series because I didn’t have the idea what this series will going. It’s kinda horror, dark, and also disturbing. But don’t judge the book by it’s cover and first glance. Even for this series I’m sure actually there’s so many people waiting for this series to be aired and support it. Why? Of course who doesn’t know Win. Especially his partner here is Prim. After we see them in F4 Thailand they finally reunited in Enigma. Fans who love Kavin and Kaning in F4 must be so happy the couple is back in this series as main lead. Fun fact, this series director also directed F4 Thailand and The Gifted. So there’s one more reason for me to watch this series. Of course it turns out become a much a good series than I expected and I really support for the next season. And I know everyone will too😋.

enigma(noun)

enig·​ma i-ˈnig-mə. e-

Synonyms of enigma

1: something hard to understand or explain

2: an inscrutable or mysterious person

3: an obscure speech or writing

Started with many strange things happening in Fa’s school (Prim’s character) after a new teacher, Ajin (Win’s character) coming to her school. Strange things happened to smartest student in the school and Fa was included. Fa trying to figure out with her detective skills to find what’s really happening in her school and if her new teacher, Ajin is involved with it. When I know this series will aired on Prime Video, I decided to try this series. I thought it’s gonna be a 10–12 episodes series but turned out they gave us only 4 episodes. Four episodes was good enough to build up the story since they’d focus to the main story and to the point. In my opinion this series also could be a 8–10 episodes series. This would be good too because actually the story could be explore more and maybe they considered it for the next season. I can imagine many scenarios to continue the story of Enigma. It could be from Fa’s point of view or a spin off how Ajin become what he’s now. But I think if GMMTV decided to make it to the next season, they will continue the story of Ajin chasing the Enigma.

This series don’t need many characters to become good. But because of it, I think we as audiences would guess the villain more easily. My rules when I watch any series or movies is to find a villain it should be someone who already showed up minimum one time in the story. Enigma didn’t have many characters but still in the beginning I almost fooled to find who caused the chaos in school. When it revealed, it all makes sense, all the scenes in early episodes would just make sense why it is included. Fa’s character is kinda awkward and I think Prim still in her comfort zone because I already seen her being familiar in her character but she’s still doing a good job with this genre and I think she’s also trying something new because many scenes in Enigma were little extreme.

For Win, I think his character quiet different compared to his other series. I already his skills on 2gether, F4 Thailand, and Devil Sister. His character here can be said a little different to every character he already played. Here we can see him disguised as a clumsy teacher but actually he looks like a bad ass modern shaman guy. It’s hard to explain so you need to see it by yourself. Their chemistry also very good as we already can see in F4 Thailand, and here we can expect to see more from them. It’s not really a romance series but still they give us a little spark of romance here and there. The romance not too visible, but they implicitly give us the vibes. Don’t expect too much to found a lovey-dovey scene here, but they care and protect about each other are enough to say that there are little romance here.

The storyline is fast paced and it’s in a good way. Four episodes for solving one case is enough to tell all the details. For me, this series have more than a case to tell and there are few things that could be explore into few episodes more, but they decided to make it simple. Since we only get four episodes the character introduction went really fast so in the beginning sometimes I wondering what the scenes meaning. The series starter with Fa talking to someone while she’s being recorded by vintage recorder and you only get the correlation nearing the end. The conflict show from the very beginning and in in a blink the main lead can chase the villain of the school. There’s also a little plot twist there. I don’t know if it can be called plot twist, but I didn’t thought that Fa already have a suspicion since the beginning. They made the story from trailer I watched like this is a hard to understand and complicated, but actually after I finished the series, it’s a simple series. It’s story related to competition between smart students with witchcraft things and revenge but they packed it with modern-supernatural style. It’s interesting. That’s why I said that GMMTV really produces many new series with fresh idea in 2023. And it’s really suited my style. In the end this series only want to give us a message just like Homeschool series did. Don’t be afraid to dream. Don’t give up on your dream.

About the story itself, somehow I already got many thoughts on my mind if this series become a 12 episode series. After they cleared the problem in school, Ajin vanished from Fa’s life and still trying to chasing Enigma. If this is a twelve-episodes series, I’d guess the story will revolves around Fa looking for Ajin while Ajin searching for Enigma and maybe they will solve another cases together until they found the main core of Enigma. Another spin-off that I thought is, it’s interesting to make a prequel story how Ajin become who he is now and explore more about Ajin himself. Because I really don’t know if Ajin is really a human because he has ability to heal himself or he’s something else? For all Win’s fans also got s surprise in the really end episode of Enigma. The director really know what fans will be loved so they decided to make ‘someone’ become a top candidate of Enigma. From this epilog, I really hope they will make it to next season. Even though if that’s happen, is Prim as Fa will show again in next season? Or it’ll be focus on Ajin and Enigma?

In my conclusion, I thought this series is really so much better than my expectation. Gratefully I tried to watch this series. If it didn’t show in Prime Video maybe I’ll think twice to watch it. Even from the first minute I watch it, I closed it again and decided to watch it with my sister because it gives me a creepy and disturbing vibe so better to watch it with a company. One more thing to appreciate here is the makeup. They made it really creepy and disturbing and it look so real. They really did a great job for this. Last, I just can say that I really waited for this series make it to next season. This is also a new packed story from GMMTV and they made it really well for this time. Must watch for a short-time series.

I’ll give this series 4,5 stars out of stars ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ✨, because this is too short for me.

“I used to think that if something fantastical happened, or being swept off my feet from this boring world like in a fairy tale, it would be nice.”

--

--

nana.

like to review her binge watch collection, used to write here before active in Medium: http://nanachingu.tumblr.com