My LASIK Eye Surgery Experience

DANDAMA
4 min readJun 14, 2020

--

What’s LASIK eye surgery?

It stands for “laser-assisted in situ keratomileuses” basically it’s a laser eye surgery so that you can see better.

Who can get LASIK eye surgery?

Not everyone. I don’t know the criteria and if you’re not an expert on ophthalmology I’d even care about the requirements. If you apply for a LASIK eye surgery there must be an examination prior to the operation (mine was for free) so that they see if you can get the LASIK eye surgery or not.

What the Lasik eye surgery procedure looks like?

#1: They do a bunch of tests on your eyes with futuristic machines in order to see what the laser machine should do with your eyes.

#2: You are also going to be examined manually by an ophthalmologist.

#3: Once they examined the results they decide if you do the LASIK surgery or not.

Once your eyes are qualified to get the surgery done the procedure is the following:

#4: You sign the papers that they are only responsible to a certain extent. Probably this is what I signed but I could not see anything because of the eye drops I got before surgery.

#5: You wait a little bit with these eye drops and everything gets blurry. Moreover, you receive a Xanax to chill you out.

#6: Then they prepare you for the surgery. Actually, I became pretty chilled and I was kind of flirting with the girl who prepared my eyes so I did not take too much attention to this part but she sanitized the skin around my eyes. She also sprayed something in my eyes so that I could not feel much.

#7: I went in for the LASIK eye surgery I had to lay under a machine. I could not see much there were weird lights I felt like in a science-fiction movie when you just woke up after being robbed by aliens and you see those weird blurry lights. Then I had to lay under another machine. There they put some kind of ring in my eye so that I could not blink and the machine could do the operation on my iris. This was so smooth because I have deep eyes but eventually they managed to put the ring on. Actually, a vacuum was applied to pull that ring to my iris.

So this is how LASIK eye surgery is performed.

A regular question is that does LASIK eye surgery hurt?

No, it does not really but it’s not a convenient procedure either. You’re sedated so you feel less and I would not say that it hurts however the procedure is not a nice memory.

Is LASIK eye surgery safe? What are the risks of LASIK eye surgery?

It’s safe. I have not even heard stories where people got blind or something. Obviously, there is a risk but that is absolutely low. Hopefully, you are not going be the one out of millions whose eyes get f…ed up.

Is LASIK eye surgery worth it?

I like to do a lot of sports, I play football regularly on a recreational basis and it is much more convenient to live without glasses. If you’re comfortable wearing contact lenses that’s another question but I never really wanted to wear contact lenses so for me the LASIK eye surgery was worth it and my eye color did not change :D

How does the LASIK eye surgery recovery process look like?

#1: In the beginning, your eyes are really sensitive to lights so outside you need to wear UV protected sunglasses. After 3 months I could leave it.

#2: Also, you need to use LASIK eye drops, actually two of them. One of them contains steroids so that your eyes don’t heal themselves (your eyes would naturally go back to the original bad state as a healing process, meaning that you should wear glasses again if you’d let them recover themselves). The other eye drops are just regular eye drops because your eyes are going to dry out. In the first weeks, it was almost painful to open my eyes in the morning because they were so dry. Therefore you’ll need to use a lot of these eye drops to make your eyes vet.

Is LASIK eye surgery permanent?

After 3–6 months it stabilizes and becomes permanent. I’m a little bit disappointed because my vision was perfect after the surgery but later on after every month my vision deteriorated. It was officially measured by the doctors so it’s not just my perception.

Overall I could see better with glasses, however, it’s still good enough and more convenient than my life with glasses before.

You might wonder how much LASIK eye surgery did cost?

The LASIK eye surgery cost me around 1,500$ (in Hungary). This was the price for the faster method where the eyes heal faster and I could work with my laptop from the very next day and after 3 months there are no restrictions at all.

Here’s a video with me talking about my LASIK eye surgery experience with a little bit more insights:

--

--