I had a Brief Fling With Capacities.io — Sorry Obsidian

Whilst I enjoyed the whole affair, Capacities is not currently for me. But it might be, and here’s why.

🌿Annette Raffan 🌼
7 min readJun 17, 2023

I’ve not been doing much on the writing front this last week. A combination of kids parties and feeling under the weather, mentally and physically, have forced a break on the usual ‘5–9’, and ‘9–5’ as it also happens.

All that, and maybe I might have been having a little love affair on the side with the new note-taking app that is Capacities.io.

The people at Capacities HQ are onto a great app and they should be proud of what they are creating. Thanks to being inspired by PKM Beth and a few others taking the leap, I took a little foray to see whether it was for me.

Capacities website screenshot

Why Capacities captured my interest

Capacities is a super nice app and I can see why people are converting to it. I would describe it as a pared-down and focused Notion, with some Obsidian-esque features. By using an object-focused method to tie things together, it takes the fear out of where or how to start.

Sort of.

‘Objects’ are central to how Capacities works and are their major draw, but also where it gets confusing to begin with.

--

--

🌿Annette Raffan 🌼

📚 Postgraduate researcher figuring out the researcher life one method at a time, introspective, plant person.