Surprising Personal Takeaways From Writing 2000 Words a Day

I’m just over a week into a March challenge to write 60,000 words. I was surprised how many things I’ve learnt about writing in such a short space of time.

🌿Annette Raffan 🌼
12 min readMar 22, 2023
red and white painted sign on a rock saying 2000m
Photo by Thomas Galler on Unsplash

I’m currently doing the Income School Project24 Content Warrior Challenge. The challenge, which they hold twice a year, is to write 60,000 words in one month. All in the name of getting a little badge in their discourse forum to say I completed it…

When I first found out about it, it seemed an insane amount of words to write in 30 days, especially when it’s a side hobby for me. But broken down to 2000 words a day, it seemed a bit more friendly. I mean, how hard can it be to write 2000 words a day…!? I thought it would be especially pertinent to share my experiences, since this very week, Better Humans mentioned there may be a writing challenge on the way; I’m always up for a challenge!

However I didn’t think this particular challenge would have such a profound effect on me and my writing as I thought it would, especially in the space of just 11 days. A big part of me believed I would give up after about 4–5 days. But we’re now on day 11 (at time of writing) of the challenge and I’m still going strong. It’s quite exciting actually. I…

--

--

🌿Annette Raffan 🌼

📚 Postgraduate researcher figuring out the researcher life one method at a time, introspective, plant person.