Generative AI

Daniela Coronado
2 min readFeb 27, 2024

--

As part of “Generation Z,” and semi growing up with technology I see how it is constantly changing. One of these new to the public technologies is AI. AI is an artificial intelligence that is now displayed to the public. As this is now normal to use I question if Chatgpt (generative text) should be integrated in a classroom. As a future educator is it important to progress with technology?

I suppose that most people by now have used Chatgpt in some way shape or form. When it first became mainstream I wasn’t a big fan. To be completely honest it scared me and continues to scare me. But as a person with curiosity, I decided to try it for myself. Although I did try and explore what it was capable of. One thing that has shocked me and continues to shock me is the fact that AI is such a big thing with people having conversations with it. AI was integrated into Snap Chat a popular social media platform and it allowed people to have conversations with Artificial intelligence. As an educator, I wonder if children will see this and ask questions that they shouldn’t ask at an early age.

Chatgpt is one of the many examples of AI that are taking over. In some ways, it is scary to think about. I do although find that it being introduced to education can be a plus for students. I think that students being able to use chatgpt can help students in their studies. It can be beneficial for students but it is important to highlight that AI is not trustworthy and it is important to demonstrate responsible knowledge in using this synthetic text generator. It is important to be responsible, generative text can always be flagged in an assignment if a student is not careful. As a current student, I know that copywriting is important to be aware of.

--

--