The Impact of Women Who Go in my Life

Daniela Petruzalek
10 min readSep 27, 2017

Those of you who follow me on Medium and/or other social networks probably already know this, but 2017 has been so far the best year in my entire career.

With so many special things happening at the same time, it's almost hard to pinpoint the most life changing experience I've had. Yes, I said almost.

The title is a bit of a spoiler, but I hope the journey is as revealing to you as it was to me. Very few people know my real history with Go (the programming language) and how I got into this community in the first place. So, this is my story.

Like all the greatest things in my life, everything happened by accident. It all started in September, 2016... I had just lost my job and was on the interviewing process with my current employer, Globo.com.

Like any progressive woman nowadays, I have some interview questions I like to ask to my possibly new employer to understand better the work environment at the given company. Kind of like the three questions in The Walking Dead, but regarding to diversity and inclusion of women and LGBT. I always ask:

  1. Does your company have a diversity program established?
  2. How many women and LGBT people work on your team?
  3. What are your plans regarding diversity and inclusion for the near future?

I ask these questions in some way or another in every interview, independently of the purpose of it (technical, behavioral, management, etc), so I can…

--

--

Daniela Petruzalek

Executive Director at JPMC, Google Developer Expert: Go & GCP, TEDx speaker, blogger, traveler and cat lover =^.^=