The Cookbook Of Life

Daniel Asuquo
2 min readMay 14, 2024

--

I'm baaaaacccckkkk, people!!!

I finished my exams at the beginning of the weekend, and I couldn’t have been more relieved to be done. It’s officially 9 semesters done and one FINAL one to go. Yaaaaaaaayyyy!! It’s really been a journey that’s been packed with plenty experiences along the way. Finishing my exams on Friday, I was already looking forward to things I was going to do. Alas, the most I’ve done so far is sleep for lengthy hours and try to watch movies in between - I’m on the second part of Harry Potter; so much for "I’m gonna do fun stuff once these exams are over" .

From "No Reservations"

Just before exams started, I saw an IG reel that was a scene from a 2007 film, "No Reservations". I liked what I saw and I went in search of the film, I found it, watched it over the weekend, and totally enjoyed it.

So quick summary...

There's this chef who works at a restaurant and fully engrossed in her work there. She's expecting her sister and niece when she gets a call later that night: her sister got involved in an accident and dies, leaving her daughter. This chef is now tasked with the responsibility of looking after the little girl. Stuff and stuff happens throughout the movie, you should definitely check it out. Yeah also, she's in therapy for anger management. Towards the end of the movie, she meets her therapist and he tells her something in response to what she was talking about, using an analogy she could definitely relate with. She sought advise about life stuff and the therapist said "It's the recipes you create by yourself that's the best", meaning it's the experiences we have and are part of that are the best for us.

We are always seeking advice and opinions from others and these are genuinely good, having our own experiences most of the time make sense. There's this popular question "what would you have done differently if you could go back 3,4 years?" and my response to this question is always the same - NOTHING. If I'm going back without a foreknowledge, there's really nothing different I can do. We may not like it, but these experiences are what form us. It's experiences that help us make decisions, it's still these experiences that form memories. Like it or not, you can't survive off learning from the experiences of other people - you need your own as well.

--

--

Daniel Asuquo

Read with me as I share my stories and thoughts, hopefully you enjoy and find them relatable. I write as I talk