Daniel Gonzalez
3 min readOct 24, 2022
  • What did you do this past week?

I did a lot of fun stuff this week. The biggest thing was working and getting a good amount of the allocation project done. I tried Turkish food for the first time ever, it was amazing! I invited my cousin to come to class with me and show him what a CS class is like at UT he had a wonderful time.

  • What’s in your way?

Currently the only time i would say is in my way is Allocating. Once i am finished with this project i can work on all the other little things i have to do and i can have some free time for myself.

  • What will you do next week?

For this coming week the goal on monday is to have project allocation complete. The biggest goal in allocating is to make sure that the code works will all data types. We know our code works for both integer and doubles the ultimate test is to get it to work with struct A. Outside of OOP the goal is to catch up on my mythology course. That course has been neglected for a good bit and i need to catch up this week. Hoping to give myself time to apply for jobs and have time for personal projects.

  • What did you think of Paper #9. The Dependency Inversion Principle?

I love these articles they are so eye opening and its great that they present to you an issue that of course youve seen so many times in your coding career then they present you a solution that is just so wonderful it makes you want to go back to all your coding mistake and fix them with your new gained knowledge. Learning about how to make code reusable, flexible and not so fragile is eye opening.

  • What was your experience of Stack, explicit, and friend? (this question will vary, week to week)

I sadly missed the stack lecture but i did make it for the explicit and friend lectures. I think friend is a VERY powerful keyword there are so many times when i am like well i cant access this classes data becuase its private and so my solution is to make the data public. This is insane of course but i could not figure out what to do so it seemed like the only logical solution but learning about friend is a huge eye opener and its awesome. This lecture has definitely made me a better programmer.

  • What made you happy this week?

I am grateful for my friends and family they make me happy first. Next is my progress on the allocation project with my partner. My partner has been awesome and we started from nothing wednesday and got to a good place on friday. We did this too while we had fun.

  • What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Tip of the week. Im not used to working with coding with a partner, ive always noticed everyone i have peer coded with its always been hard to communicate what exactly were tyring to say. Everyone has their own terminology and understanding of what they are coding in their head and it can be very hard to convey what your thoughts are. Also its hard to maintain all of this new information in your head as someone explains to you what they do in their code. SO heres the TIP, draw everything out and go step by step what you want to convey to your partner. Visualizing your code allows your partner to slowly absorb what you are trying to convey and if they need to refer to something in the past that you told them about its documented on whatever you drew on. So pull out you pen and paper or you ipad and apple pencil or whatever surface laptop stylus you have and stop being confused.

Daniel Gonzalez
0 Followers

Native Austinite. Computer Scientist.