160 Episodes into My Podcast and what I’ve learned

Daniel Hafner
3 min readApr 1, 2019

When I decided to start a podcast for myself back in July of 2018, all I wanted to do was just get some frustrations and internal thoughts out of my head. It really started as self-therapy for me and I didn’t care who would listen or how many views I would have. I just knew I needed to start telling people my story.

Flash forward to April 2018 and I now have 160 episodes and counting of the “Run Your Day” podcast, where the objective is to provide relevant and focused personal and business lessons every single day. The funny thing is, when I started, I had no idea what I was doing as far as a business or a podcast went. I didn’t even publish the first few episodes I recorded because I was so fearful of people hearing my voice on the Internet and being judged. Thinking about that mindset now makes me laugh, but if you are in a similar spot, I completely get the feeling associated with putting yourself out there. It can be very scary and intimidating.

I am from Erie, PA but currently live in Charleston, WV with my wife and our two dogs. I work a full-time job and work on my side-business in my spare time. Just like everyone else, I have problems, stress, anxiety, worries, fears and doubts.

“Will I ever make more money?”

“Am I doing what I am supposed to be doing with my life?”

“Is this all I am meant to do?”

“How do I create a bigger impact on people and actually bring something of value?”

All of these thoughts and more circled around my head (and still do) when I started Run Your Day.

But here is the biggest thing I have learned so far throughout this entire journey: FEAR IS NOT REAL AND CONSISTENCY IS DIFFICULT.

Fear is simply a created emotion our brains create to trick us into staying “safe” and “secure” instead of risking anything that is beyond our comfort zone. It is bull shit and you know it.

I’ve also learned that maintaining consistency in a message and a brand is quite difficult, especially if you’ve never done it before or have other things going on in your life. At the end of the day however, some content is better than no content.

So whether you are considering starting your own podcast, starting a side-business or just doing something that some people around you find odd or weird, the biggest piece of advice I have for you is to just leap. Just do it. No one has to live your life except for you and no one can be happy for you.

If you have a dream, pursue it like your life depends on it. If you have a goal or a target you are chasing, hunt that thing down like it’s your last chance to ever eat anything in your life.

You can check out my podcast here. Keep grinding and keep going.

You are closer to success than you think.

Dan Hafner

CEO/Founder, RunWage & Run Your Day

--

--