Daniella Bun
3 min readJun 26, 2016

Tips before you hire a cabinet refacing company

Do you want to hire a cabinet refacing company ? Do you have all the information necessary to avoid being scammed or cheated by an unscrupulous cabinet refacing contractors? Other than heading out to click the “order” button, why not take a few minutes to read these few tips.

Don’t get me wrong here, it is not complicated to find a good cabinet refacing company; the only problem is that people simple jump into it without following some basic guidelines, which I share below.

Be clear about what you want

I know that it may not be always possible to know what you want until you’ve had a chat with the contractor and seen some of their recommended options. My point I here is, the kitchen industry is much like the computer industry — I mean cabinet refacing contractors are always trying to get consumers to upgrade. If you are not careful, you may find yourself spending far more than your budget allows for refacing cabinet. In fact, there are some cabinet refacing companies that will advise you to build a kitchen that suits them not you.

As for referrals

Talk to the people who are around you — your friends, colleagues, family and neighbors. These have probably used one or two cabinet refacing contractors before.

Compliancy check

Some cabinet refacing contractors do not have the required licenses, which means they can pause a risk to you and your family. Check if the company has the state and local municipalities licenses as required. This may include, amongst others the Certified Residential Contractor License.

Professional association

Having a kitchen cabinet refacing company subscribed with a professional association is an additional benefit. In addition, in some states, this is a requirement, which means if your potential contractor is not a member of any association then there is something really questionable about it. For example, some known associations include, the National Kitchen and Bath Association (NKBA) and the National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI).I consider it a plus if the kitchen contractor is a full member of the C.P.A. (Consumer Protection Association).

Ask a lot of questions

Once you have a short list of your potential contractors, don’t be shy to ask a lot. The more you ask the better. In fact I always say if they get irritated then they are not worth my dollar. I mean I need to know that the people I will be opening my home to have satisfied my need right to the end. .

Read the contract

Most of us hate reading, in fact who ever reads the small worded policies and warranty docs that come attached wit receipts and contracts. I used to ignore them until one day I got a wake up call. Don’t worry it has nothing to do with the kitchen remodeling industry or contractors.

Last word of warning: Beware of the “special sale that ends today”.