30 words x 30 days

Danielle Baldock - Writer
6 min readMay 13, 2020

April flash fiction challenge 2020

My month of Iso-writing using FOCUS prompts from Writers Victoria, a 30 word story every day of April…

1/4/2020 EYEBALL

They say the eyes of the dead reflect their last sight. Basil grins into the depths of Anya’s left eyeball, sticky in his palm. He’s always wanted to see Moscow.

1/4/2020 EYEBALL

‘I’ll be watching you’ were Lucy’s final words. As the coffin sinks, George holds tight to all he has left of her. A perfect green eyeball, her last wish fulfilled.

2/4/2020 CONCENTRATE

Inhale… Concentrate… I breathe in, feel a scrabbling deep in my lungs. Now, hold… Spiky fingers claw my throat. Exhale… I open my mouth wide, and set the demons free

3/4/2020 INTENSE

Feeling swirls intense through her blood. Fear… love… sometimes it’s hard to tell. She swirls her wine, fidgets. And then he’s beside her, eyes alight, gripping her fingers too tight.

4/4/2020 BLUR

Gran’s fingers blur, butter and flour transforming into golden scones. I copy her, all my small fingers make is mess. She puts her soft hands on mine, smiles. Like this…

--

--

Danielle Baldock - Writer

…Small writings… Short stories… Microfiction… Flash fiction… Poetry… Wild writing…