Trivium Deep Dive — “In Waves”

Danielle Wenzel
4 min readSep 30, 2021

Read this review for free at Metal Cutie!

Hey everyone! Since my last review I actually saw Trivium live on the Metal Tour of the Year with Megadeth, Lamb of God, and Hatebreed! It was awesome and I would gladly see them perform again many times more. Next time I think I would definitely get tickets up front and close to the stage, opposed to the lawn section where my ticket was for this past concert.

Today I am listening to Trivium’s fifth studio album “In Waves” from Roadrunner Records, released August 2, 2011. This album features their singles “In Waves”, “Built to Fall”, “Black”, and “Watch the World Burn”. This album definitely makes you want to jump around and get shoved into a mosh pit, or shove someone else into one hahaha. This album feels like Trivium has stepped up their heaviness!

The album starts with the unique sounds of “Capsizing the Sea”. This whole song is a build up to the next track and it kind of keeps you on edge waiting for the transitions. Then boom, into the pounding rhythms of the title track “In Waves”. “In Waves” is a very catchy track that will stick around in the back of your mind…it definitely has been playing in my head! It makes sense why they would give the album the same name as this track since it is so catchy.

--

--