Daniel Lopes
2 min readJun 2, 2016

--

Andre Almeida Araujo I can write about that in the future but my case was a combination of luck and planning.

I worked for myself for 5 years in Brazil and I managed to save enough money to be on vacation and traveling for at least one year. That was my plan but I also didn't want to waste all my time doing just touristic things.

I decided to work as a volunteer in a bunch of different places at my own expense and the first place I visited I ended-up having a good connection with the CEO.

After a month as a volunteer he invited me to keep working for the company full time. I went back to Brazil and did contract work remotely for two years while they tried to get me an H1B visa (it's a lottery process), in the meantime, I would visit the company at least twice a year. Basically, I owe my visa to my ex-boss.

If you are looking to move to the US, I would advise finding a place that is remote friendly and happy to sponsor your Visa even with a big chance of not getting it. Having at least a bachelor degree helps a lot, if you don't have one, I think I wouldn't even try. If that doesn't sound like a good option to you, look for European and Canadian companies. Their visa process is way less stupid than the American.

That's about it, not much else to talk about to be honest. Maybe in the future, I can talk about how bad is the H1B process how it affects your options in a negative way once you get the visa.

--

--

Daniel Lopes

Wearing multiple hats at @knowyourcompany; a tiny indie company focused on improving work environment. Previously director of product at @IFTTT