Running Universal Replayer on Mac

How to solve java 7 issues with Universal Replayer on Mac OS X

Danilo Lamounier
3 min readMar 7, 2014

I love to play texas hold’em. I also love to learn and develop my skills. To help my learning on poker online, I'am always looking for tools that gives me information about how I play. And I’ve found the Universal Replayer, a great tool that provides me a way to analyse my hands, step by step, through my hand histories (you can get that on your poker site/app).

On Windows, Universal Replayer is quite simple to use, no big deal. On Mac you can have several problems to install and to run the app.

After a lot of tries and research, I finally found a way to make Universal Replayer work on a mac.

Let's do this. I'm going to divide the explanation into three sections to make it easy to understand.

Environment Configuration

The environment configuration steps changes some security options of Java and Mac OS. Follow the steps below at your own risk.

  1. You must have Java 7 installed on your mac;
  2. Open System Preferences and click on Java icon;

2. When Java control panel opens, click on Security tab, e switch security level to Medium, then click Apply and finally click OK;

3. Yet on System preferences, click on Security & Privacy;

4. On General tab, allow applications from anywhere.

Installation

To install you just need to follow the steps below:

  1. Download Universal Replayer, save it on your home directory;
  2. Open Terminal (on spotlight type "terminal"), paste the text below and play "enter";
cd ~ && curl https://gist.githubusercontent.com/danilobuiatti/9400324/raw/b318f1e98e40664123893dfd9c49910db6caafbb/URPreferences.xml -o URPreferences.xml

3. Open the Universal Replayer file that you downloaded on step 1, and wait until it download all the files that UR needs to run;

4. At some point of this process, a java warning security is going to appear. Just mark the accept checkbox, and click on run button;

5. It's working!

Post-Installation

Now that you have the Universal Replayer working, you should undo the item 4 of the Environment Configuration (choose Mac App Store and indentified developers or just Mac App Store option)

PS: You should always open Universal Replayer by clicking on the file you've downloaded (or the generated shortcut on desktop). If an application is installed, it may not work.

--

--