I Didn’t Want to Do it

But it had to be done

Dani Ray
Thought Thinkers
1 min readMay 6, 2024

--

Photo by Pixabay

In no corner of my mind
Did I ever think I’d be here
And you there
A few miles separated but our hearts
On opposite sides of the universe

Now it’s like nothing ever happened between us
Decades erased
Memories vanished
Did it really ever happen at all?

I held on for so long with both hands gripped
Until they were raw from the blister and burning
Reasoning, justifying, denying
What was so incredibly clear

Each year, each month left me falling further down
Rung by rung
Until I had to jump off to stay alive
Break my own heart to keep breathing

--

--

Dani Ray
Thought Thinkers

NYC magazine writer and editor with 20+ years of experience in publishing. Essays, articles, poetry. Writer. Thinker. Feeler.