The Dansition

Dan James
2 min readJul 31, 2015

--

16 years ago, almost to the day, seven teenaged geeks on PEI started a web development company. We had dreams of becoming a world-class shop well known for high quality work.

When we decided who should do what we agreed that I should be the “business” guy. As it was in vogue at the time we slapped a CEO title on me. It stuck.

I can only imagine that to the outside world being the CEO of silverorange must look like any other head-of-company. Internally it is much different. Silverorange is a largely flat and open organization. The role internally is one of consensus building, team building, communication, and oiling of squeaky parts. It’s more servant oriented than the stereotypical out-front-leading-the-battle role.

For the past 16 years, my entire adult life really, I have filled this role. Today I’m sad, and kind of excited, to let everyone know that I’m retiring from silverorange.

Why? For time. My wife and I own a pretty large seasonal business that’s been in my family for almost 30 years For the past 5–6 years I’ve had what really amounts to 2 full time jobs. I want to scale back so that I can spend more time with my daughter, my dog, and my family. I am enormously lucky to be in a position to do that.

Silverorange is being left in extremely capable hands. As a company we have been working on this transition (lovingly called “The Dansition”) for quite some time. We’ve figured out how silverorange will look and work during and after my exit. If I’m honest it’s going to be better than ever. My desire to leave has sparked a whole new level of conversation about our culture, our practices, our responsibilities, and our operations. It’s exciting to see the team rally around itself to secure and make better its future. It’s bittersweet that my leaving is the catalyst.

Tomorrow, August 1, Isaac Grant officially steps into my shoes. Isaac, a fellow co-founder, has been running the development team for quite some time. It was a natural progression for him to take the next step to be the new CEO. He has my full endorsement, the unanimous support of the team, and the history in the company to make for a seamless transition.

To help with the transition, and because it’s fun, I will continue to sit on our very active board of directors for the indefinite future.

By stepping away from silverorange I join a very intimidating alumni. Only 2 of the original 7 co-founders have departed in the past 16 years. I am the third. The other two, Daniel and Jevon, have gone on to have fantastic success. Gentlemen, I apologize in advance for bringing the average down.

It has been an amazing journey. Thank you to everyone who has played a part in it.

Lastly, a very special thank you to everyone at silverorange for trusting me at the helm for the past 16 years. You are family.

--

--

Dan James

Father, husband, dog lover, Innkeeper, traveller, all things out doors.