I finally read Animal Farm

Dan Moroni
1 min readApr 13, 2018

--

I’m not sure why I didn’t read this in high school (probably because I hated reading in high school) but I finally read Animal Farm by George Orwell. This past weekend.

Part of me thinks that I am going through this reading binge right because I missed the books like this and feel like this is helping me get a little caught up on literature (and some wisdom).

The book had me hooked by the end of the first chapter (8 pages), and I finished it in 2 days — a solid 2–3 hours of highly rewarding entertainment.

I knew going into the book that it was one massive metaphor for a political event but I couldn’t remember exactly what, and while reading it the satirical criticisms of communism sang loudly. (I had to look up to learn the exact reference, which was the Russian revolution in 1917 and ensuing Stalinism.)

“All animals are equal, but some are more equal than others”

The best part about getting caught up on a classic like this (of any art medium really) is they are generally pre-screened, battle worn and guaranteed be F*CKING AWESOME, and Animal Farm was just that.

This is the 14th book I read of 2018.

Book #13 was Relativity: The Special and General Theory

Book #15 was Turning Pro: Tap Your Inner Power and Create Your Life’s Work

--

--

Dan Moroni

I write to process what I read (and to let the weird stuff out). Founder of Gamekeepr.