Mytho Glyphs

Danny Cassese
2 min readJun 14, 2022

--

Mytho Glyphs started in late 2021 after I was introduced to the community aspect of NFTs. My introduction came from Steven Rea’s art, I followed him on instagram and he began posting about his 4,444 generative collection “Brain Vomit’s Garden”. After joining his discord and chatting with people I started to see how NFTs could be used for artists to gain independence, autonomy, and a core community of supporters and collectors. This was during a high point in NFTs as well when the market was doing really well and it felt like a gold rush. My mind started running with the idea of a generative art collection as a way to gain all of these things I wanted for my “career”.

The original idea of mytho glyphs was to create a generative collection centered on archetypal symbols to achieve randomly generated art that had a very heavy emphasis on individual interpretation. I pulled the idea for the art from a painting I made in Dillon Colorado while on a road trip. I wanted the Mytho Glyphs to be universal and genderless, able to take on meaning based almost solely on the viewer. I learned how to develop the collection and became the developer, artist, and lead marketer/social media manager. It was a big task to take on but I was determined to do it. I had the expectation that I would put in all of this hard work behind the scenes and upon public release I would be rewarded. I was very wrong and naive in that expectation and it lead to a lot of inital disapointment and scrambling to figure out where I had gone wrong. Six months later and I’m so proud of mytho glyphs and the way the project has unfolded. I have been slowly changing my perspective on the project and now view it as an accessible way for people to support me and my art. After spending time learning about art-centric projects, I realized that I just wanted to create something that people enjoy and support regardless of ut*lity.

With the current state of Mytho Glyphs, I want to move towards a deadline-based mint as opposed to focusing on minting out. As shown in the various airdrops, the Mytho Glyphs boulder is starting to crack and it will fully shatter on July 13th, 2022.

--

--