Dan Shamir
2 min readFeb 12, 2017

My first book

After alot of time I finally create my first book.

But it’s not an ordenery book.

I wanted to create a book that was easy for me to create. And something that I can use my skill let as a programer and designer.

So what did I create? A maze book.

So what is a Maze book? A maze book is a procedurally generated maze. That I transform into a choose your own adventure type book , where you have to decide which way to go by flipping throw the pages.

The book was developed in Python and rendered in opengl to get the art style I was looking for.

The final book is 180 pages long. I have a choice in the amount of pages and decided for the first book that I’ll go for something lite.

The program renders the art. Sets up the pages and the final file is a PDF ready to print.

I used amazon create space inorder to publish on Amazon and Kindle.

I’ll post my results and how it’s going. My plan is to have the program create 10 more book and try to see if there is a market for this kind of book.

I’m adding new features to the application. And I’ll post the updates as I go alot.

Here is a link if you feel like trying it out ☺

Castle Dark: a maze book (Ewe Edition) https://www.amazon.com/dp/154299151X/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_qklOyb7T3TWC9