Caregivers Are Awesome

Dan Vale
2 min readAug 5, 2023

--

When I first became a caregiver, I did not have a sense of caregiving perspective. I felt sorrier for myself than probably was warranted.

Then, I began following the AARP Family Caregivers Discussion Group. This group has been a gamechanger for me. I have been amazed at the fortitude of these caregivers. Many of them have challenges much greater than mine. Now, I count my blessings. I also have learned that positive perceptions can help to lessen the stress of my caregiving.

One such perception is about the independence of loved ones. My understanding of this need for independence has helped me to understand and not be as upset by my loved one’s independent behavior at times.

I am not trying to deny the challenges of caregiving. I am declaring that some caregivers have much more stressful challenges than I have faced. These caregivers are unsung heroes.

One way we caregivers can meet our challenges is through our religious faith. Even if we cannot attend church in person, we often can attend services online.

There also are many other ways to avoid burnout. We should take care of ourselves so we can take care of our loved ones.

Homecare for your loved one is more challenging, but even the assisted living option for your loved one has many responsibilities. Choosing the best assisted living facility for your loved one is important. Then, it is important for you to visit often to give your loved one the love he or she needs and to monitor the treatment of your loved one.

Caregivers must deal with a steep learning curve. Different loved ones have different medical conditions that call for different caregiving. Nevertheless, it is important that we meet these challenges. Thankfully, there are many helpful resources for us to use.

Have you ever been a caregiver? What type of experiences have you had?

Photo by Ryan Reinoso on Unsplash

--

--