Exercisers Should Listen to Their Bodies

Dan Vale
2 min readJul 24, 2023

--

This listening is critical with advancing age. This is important even with younger athletes when they are starting to exercise again after a layoff.

What can happen if you do not listen to your body? You could push your body too hard and suffer an injury such as pulled muscle. This injury could stop you from exercising for weeks or even months. Such an injury also might discourage you from returning to a consistent exercise routine.

One reason why some older exercisers do not listen to their bodies is because they cannot accept the limitations of their advancing age. They recall the athletic feats they accomplished in their younger years, and they are sure they still can accomplish them.

Some older exercisers go to the opposite extreme. They become inactive athletically, drink too much beer with their buddies as they watch and worship professional athletes.

In my case, I have realized several facts. I no longer can work my lower back and neck as strenuously as I could exercise them in my younger years. I no longer have the energy for long strenuous workouts that I had when I was younger. I do not recover from exercise as quickly as in my younger years. I have lost between three to five percent of my lean muscle mass during each decade since my 30’s.

Now, I am no longer interested in competitive sports, but I am very concerned with maintaining vigor as I age. I also want to avoid becoming frail or overweight.

We all should remember the words of Tich Nhat Hanh who said, “When it comes to health and well-being, regular exercise is about as close to a magic potion as you can get.”

To learn more about exercise, read my Book.

How old are you? How has your exercise workouts changed as you have aged?

Photo by VD Photography on Unsplash

--

--