Duolingo Course Review 2023: The Best and Worse Duolingo Courses.

Dan Van Gorden
7 min readFeb 5, 2023

Welcome to this week’s letter of the Polyglot Postman! I’m happy to bring you a project that I have been working on for quite a while. Now as many of my Twitter followers may have noticed, I enjoy tier lists quite a bit. I wanted to rank and review ALL Duolingo courses for ENGLISH SPEAKERS. I’m going to go in to broad detail over why these courses are good, bad or ok. Below is the ranking. I will start with the best and go to the dumpster fires on the bottom. Next week I will write about why I feel Duolingo has strayed far from the language learning pasture and why I’m eliminating it as a learning tool.

S: Solid Language Courses

You would think in most cases, an “S” would be god tier, but in this case these are solid courses. These are courses that I feel are relatively ok as a base resource and haven’t been AS ruined by Duolingo’s changes.

Spanish. This course is one that I had been using for a while, and I feel as though it’s still a solid course. It has stories which is good, and I also feel like it touches a lot of grammar through good explanations. It’s also incredibly long at over 200 lessons.

French, Portuguese and Italian are also still decent options for a base resource when starting out with the languages. I won’t go too much in to detail with…

--

--

Dan Van Gorden

Father, Husband, Civil Servant. I write about language learning and personal development. See my about me for newsletters.