How to Learn Catalan in 2023

Dan Van Gorden
4 min readMay 20, 2023

Welcome to this week’s post here on the Polyglot Postman. Today I’m going to be doing another language guide, and we are going to be traveling to Catalonia today to explore this romance language.

What Is Catalan?

Catalan is a romance language spoken in Catalonia, Spain. Catalonia for reference consists of the well-known city of Barcelona and is located in eastern Spain. It’s also spoken in Andorra, France and there’s even a noteworthy community in Sardinia. There are an estimated 4.1 million speakers globally, and the language recently got noticed as a result of the Catalonian independence movement.

While Catalan shares a lot of similarities with French or Spanish, it is its own language and often this perception can diminish the beauty of Catalan.

Why Learn Catalan?

When I talk to Catalan learners, I’m always puzzled as to why they’re studying a small regional language in Spain. The biggest reason I hear from learners is that Catalan speakers are some of the friendliest people they’ve encountered. I’ve also seen learners who may have studied Spanish, French or Italian, and maybe want to expand their romance language skills. While speaking Spanish (Castillian) will get you around a city like Barcelona, connecting with the residents in Catalan brings more value and human…

--

--

Dan Van Gorden

Father, Husband, Civil Servant. I write about language learning and personal development. See my about me for newsletters.