How to use ChatGPT to learn a language

Dan Van Gorden
5 min readMar 3, 2023

Welcome to this week’s post. Today we’re going to explore ChatGPT as a study tool for learning a language. We’re going to go over some basics, and different strategies on how to incorporate ChatGPT as a learning tool.

I write articles like this in my newsletter at the https://www.polyglotpostman.com/ and if you find value in this come subscribe. Don’t forget to follow me here on Medium as well!

What is ChatGPT

ChatGPT is a artificial intelligence chat bot, that answers questions, writes things, and pulls information. It’s been very popular in the tech world as of late, for its ability to write essays and perform better functions than Google. I saw Steve Kaufmann on Twitter interacting with it, and others, and it motivated me to try it out and see what we can do.

So what can ChatGPT do?

Well if you ask ChatGPT how it can help you learn a language this is its response:

So you can use this as a reference tool, or a digital conversation partner, but let’s dig in to some more things that we can use ChatGPT for. As far as the extent of the languages that it operates in, this is the reponse:

--

--

Dan Van Gorden

Father, Husband, Civil Servant. I write about language learning and personal development. See my about me for newsletters.