What Are the Best Language Learning Apps in 2023?

Dan Van Gorden
10 min readJul 11, 2023

Welcome to this week’s post. Last year on Twitter I ranked the best language learning apps, but I wanted to update it for 2023 as apps have changed. I’m going to provide my grade for them, the primary function, the price, and the pros and cons.

As a gamer, and internet man I like the tier list system, so this is how we’re ranking these applications. We will start with the F tier ( the dumpster fire tier) first and work our way down to the S tier (the elite tier).

F Tier : Why doe these apps even exist?

Tandem

Cost: Free

Function: Language Exchange App

So Tandem is in the dumpster fire tier, because of the rampant sexual harassment that occurs on the platform. I have met individuals who have found language learning partners on this platform, however the vast majority of conversations on there end up with creepy men hitting on women. Just go on any social media site, and search for tandem and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

Mondly

Cost: $9.99/month for one language, $47.99/year for one language, or $89.99 for a lifetime subscription for all 41 languages.

Function: Lesson Driven App

--

--

Dan Van Gorden

Father, Husband, Civil Servant. I write about language learning and personal development. See my about me for newsletters.