Introducing my Cosmetic Chemistry and Culture Blog

Daphne Nguyen
1 min readDec 14, 2022

As an aspiring chemist, I’ve become intrigued by the intersection of chemistry and green industrial practices. I got interested in this topic through learning about cosmetics on YouTube, which I found interesting on account of the large variety of cosmetics and the distinctions between each one.

What I discovered, and what led me to pursue this blog, is that cosmetics are applied by consumers who trust that they are not harmful to the body or to the planet, but that is not necessarily the case. While reading, I found that cosmetics are a complex topic involving chemistry, legal regulation, as well as traditional social practices.

I am also interested in cosmetics from a cultural perspective, including my own as a Vietnamese-American, and as an on-ramp to chemistry for girls who might be less inclined to pursue the pathways that are mostly dominated by boys.

Those are posts for another day, but since I am launching my blog, I wanted to introduce myself and my perspective on what I am going to be blogging about to investigate my interests, and hopefully share some interesting stuff with the reading audience.

Join me in my cosmetics chemistry journey!

--

--

Daphne Nguyen

Aspiring chemist and advocate interested in all things science