Inspiring Energizers we can personalize and adapt.

Daphne Grech Cumbo
2 min readNov 10, 2022

--

When we’re feeling off or low in energy, there are activities which drain us even more and those that energize us.

Some of the common effective energizers include movement, connecting with nature, listening to music and meditation.

A couple of people I spoke to recently, turned this up a notch by going much deeper, which inspired me to share their stories:

Back to our roots

I ran a session on building healthy habits to a group of hospitality professionals. It was great checking back into the industry, which accounted for 2 decades of my career, from the perspective of a coach this time.

We talked about ennervators and energizers and one participant really inspired me. His role requires him to be active and meet with people around the hotel, however when he is carrying out his office-bound duties as a director, he often feels drained. What he does to energize himself in those times is: take a walk around the hotel, speak to a guest and pick up a couple of plates in pure hospitality fashion.

We can all learn so much from this, simply going back to our roots when our energy subsides and using the human connection to bring us back.

Vent over purpose

This reminded me of another conversation I had with a colleague recently, when we were talking about our reason for getting up in the morning.

His story was of a similar nature. When he felt frustrated or drained he vented by going back to his drawing board and working deeply on his purpose.

We (the team) then knew when he was having a “bad day” as we’d receive some great ideas!

Fuel up on premium

Take stock of what makes you feel alive and true to your identity, Next think of ways you can package it into an “energizer” to use as an effective pick-me-up that will give your engine a long lasting run.

If you want to maximize your energy, connect with me you can visit my wellness page on Up Your Level or hire me as your coach on Coach.me

--

--

Daphne Grech Cumbo

I am passionate about sustainable wellness and creating healthy habits fuelled by identity and purpose to drive professional performance and personal happiness.