How my design became a moment in a love story

A story about love, passion, and craftsmanship

Dare Oni
DesignIsFun
4 min readFeb 14, 2023

--

It’s been more than a decade since I started exploring visual design, I started as a graphic designer and then transitioned into product design after my bachelor’s degree in computer science.

I have had the privilege of working at big companies and with highly valued clients both at home and abroad, and God knows I always put in my best to any project I lay my hands on.

Recalling projects I have worked on with varying complexity of design requests, I can draw out one major similarity among them, the goal of my design is to increase the profitability of my employer’s or client’s business, and that’s what I strived for.

But never knew a day would come when I will have to design something outside the usual, something that will test my skill as a designer and determine if I will seat on the cosmic table of my designer heroes 🦸🦸🏻.

Design brief from lover

Anu and I were college mates and co-workers, we had attended the same university (FUNAAB) and had worked at the same place (Konga) where we occasionally have conversations in tech music and philosophy, one cool thing about Anu is that he raps the song “RAP GOD” better than Eminem himself Jeez! I can hear his voice in my head as I type… 🤣

It was 2020 couple of months into the pandemic, got a call from Anu about an idea to develop an app to propose to his girlfriend, he spoke of a concept of a quiz game and a video being played at the end of the game of him playing the piano, he shared me a figma link of a design someone helped him with and was asking for my expertise hoping I could add some delightful experience to it, and I knew immediately it was a project I would love to jump on.

brief description of how the app is going to work

Cooking up some magic 🪄🦄

After getting the brief, I surfed Dribble and Behance to get inspiration for design layout and aesthetics.

But something was missing, I needed to integrate a story, you see stories are what give meaning to things, so I came up with the idea of a love tree that grows over time as a narration to complement the quiz game.

Here was the quick sketch I worked on while thinking of the experience.

Ideation sketches
Ideation sketches

Prototyping in love 💕🧑🏾 💻

After having a clear direction on how to go about designing the experience, did some cooking on Figma, added life to it with After Effects, and finally worked out a prototype with Protopie.

Here are some selected screens

Game opener screen
quiz instance screen
Ice breaker screen
countdown screen
marry me screen
Anu proposes to his girlfriend

Love can be expressed in many ways 🎨

Anu was pretty happy with the outcome of my design, and proceeded with the implementation, thinking about it now we both expressed love in different ways, for me, it was my work while at that moment for Anu it was his Wife, so that’s how my design became part of a beautiful love story 🙃

The greatest experience people of all races and cultures want is “Love”, love is a transdimensional experience that goes beyond all forms of material Interaction.

Love ❤️ and Light 🪔

--

--

Dare Oni
DesignIsFun

Philosopher & Digital Polymath,, Educator at www.youtube.com/c/DesignIsFun. “Tech is for Everyone”