Mom and Dad

Darien Lee
2 min readOct 23, 2017

--

Hey, dad…..

Say, let’s talk……..

Hey, dad, are you happy?

–silence–

Hey, dad, do you need any help?

“No………” dad said

Sure? You really don’t need any help?

–silence–

Hey, dad, what do you want?

Is there anything you want? Anything you want to do?

You want anything from me?

Hey, dad………

“OK…… OK…….” dad said

–silence–

Say, dad, let’s take a walk.

“No, I don’t want to walk.” dad said

Why not, dad?

Why don’t you want to walk?

–silence–

Hey, dad, let’s talk.

Hey, dad, would you tell me a story?

–pause–

“I don’t know any story to tell.” dad said

Just tell me anything, dad.

“I don’t have any story, I don’t have anything to tell you.” dad said

But dad, I really want to hear from you telling me a story.

–deep silence–

–silence–

Hey, dad, can I tell you something?

–silence–

I miss you and……I am sorry.

I hope you can hear me………….

AND

Hey, mom……..

Hey, mom………. do you like me?

Hey, mom……… am I your son?

“Yeah……….. you’re my son.” mom said

Hey, mom, am I being a son of whom you want me to be?

“What do you mean?” mom asked

Am I the son you want me to be?

–silence–

Do you like what I have been doing as your son?

“What do you mean?” mom asked

I don’t know. Is there anything you want from me? Is it you want me to do what you wanted me to do?

–mom’s weeping started–

“Is that what you’re thinking of me as this kind of person?” mom asked

“What do you think I want you to do?” mom asked

“Are you saying I want you to listen to me and do what I want you to do?” mom asked

–pause–

I guess………..I don’t know, that’s why I asked. Heck, I might not even know I asked correctly.

–silence– but mom’s weak weeping continuing

Hey, mom, have you ever lied to me?

“No……….no………….no………” mom said

–mom’s stronger weeping–

Hey, mom, I’ve always wanted to make you happy, you know that, right?

Hey, mom, are you happy?

–silence–

--

--

Darien Lee

I create like an artist, build like an engineer, understand like a scientist, keep up like a sportsman, walk like everyone else, values like I always have.