Howl (2015) Review

Dayan Muthukumar
7 min readApr 8, 2022

Werewolves or Lycans are probably the most underrepresented sub-genre in horror films or literature. I should know because they also happen to be my favourite horror creatures.

For lycan enthusiasts like myself, the scarcity of good werewolf movies and more so the quality of these films leaves a void in any fan’s heart that is only sated once in a blue moon. Pun most definitely intended.

More popular horror sub-genres such as vampire and zombie movies seem to have a never-ending supply of adaptations and budgets continually attached to them. The poor lycanthrope is usually on the low budget end of the horror food chain, so it’s no surprise that almost every werewolf movie that’s released ranges from mediocre to shit. But every few years, there’ll be a werewolf flick that comes out of nowhere and stands out like dogs’ balls in the sea of tragic failures in it’s genre. Howl is one of them.

For this reason, I was very excited when I first heard via http://www.upcominghorrormovies.com that there was a new movie in production called Howl directed by some guy named Paul Hyett.

As I always do when hearing there’s a new werewolf flick on the horizon, I tried to find as much information on it as I possibly could. There wasn’t a lot out there at the time but from what I could find, the premise seemed interesting enough. A bunch of passengers…

--

--