Fiction book reviews

The Three-Body Problem: A Review of Liu Cixin’s “Remembrance of Earth’s Past” Trilogy

Exploring the depths of space, time, and the human condition in a futuristic odyssey

Volodymyr Osmak
8 min readJun 13, 2023

--

Background: Image by kjpargeter on Freepik. Book covers: Images by Tor Books publishing

On Earth, humankind can step onto another continent, and without a thought, destroy the kindred civilizations found there through warfare and disease. But when they gaze up at the stars, they turn sentimental and believe that if extraterrestrial intelligences exist, they must be civilizations bound by universal, noble, moral constraints, as if cherishing and loving different forms of life are parts of a self-evident universal code of conduct

Why Read This?

When my friends started talking about “Remembrance of Earth’s Past”, I knew there was something special about this series. My curiosity grew even more when I saw bloggers mentioning the books in their “dark forest” debates. These discussions made me realize that this story was more than just a thrilling adventure — it was a chance to explore big ideas. The more I learned, the more I knew I had to read it.

“Remembrance of Earth’s Past” is a must-read for fans of hard science fiction who love stories about space, time, and what it means to be human.

--

--

Volodymyr Osmak

Avid reader, movie watcher, traveler, and minimalist. Eager to share my thoughts with the community