How To Go From Story To Sales Pitch While Keeping Your Reader Engaged And Open…

Darren Hanser
4 min readMar 19, 2015

--

Ever get stuck when writing sales copy going from point to point or from one benefit to another?

When I was starting out writing copy, the biggest struggle was moving from a story to the pitch. Especially in emails it felt like a hard stop and the flow just got lost.

So how DO you go from one point to the next without losing the flow?

The answer is in using transition phrases.

Here’s a list of 117 Transition Phrases originally from Copywriting Express you can use in your sales letters and emails to easily go from one thought to the next, while keeping your reader engaged and open.

117 Transitional Words and Phrases For Your Sales Letters and Marketing EmailsTweet This

You may want to bookmark this page so you have these transition phrases handy. Add it to your swipe file and refer back regularly…

Here are the 117 Transitional Words and Phrases For Your Sales Letters and Marketing Emails:

  1. As you carefully scan each and every word of this page…
  2. As you may have noticed…
  3. Aside from that, one thing’s for sure
  4. And that doesn’t take into account the fact that…
  5. And here’s some great news for you:
  6. And to prove it, here is…
  7. A word of caution:
  8. Astonishing, isn’t it?
  9. And remember…
  10. And that’s not all…
  11. And best of all…
  12. And what’s worse…
  13. But before I jump into the details, let me say this…
  14. Back to what I was saying…
  15. But don’t take my word for it…
  16. But I must let you in on a secret…
  17. Before we go any further, I want to set something straight…
  18. But you’re still unsure? You’d rather be safe than sorry?
  19. But what if you could…
  20. But make no mistake about it…
  21. But wait, it didn’t stop there…
  22. But if you’re still not convinced, let me SWEETEN the deal for you…
  23. Bear with me, because I’m going to show you how…
  24. But there is just one small catch…
  25. But more on that later…
  26. But that’s not all… Far from it!
  27. But you know what else?
  28. But wait! You have seen NOTHING yet…
  29. Bottom line is…
  30. But how do you know if (Insert Your Product Name) is for you?
  31. But it doesn’t stop there, either.
  32. But don’t worry…
  33. Consider this:
  34. Can this be true?
  35. Can you imagine how great that feels?
  36. Can you really afford not to….
  37. Do you follow me so far?
  38. Does this make sense to you?
  39. Don’t forget…
  40. For example…
  41. For instance…
  42. Fair enough?
  43. Here’s the real kicker:
  44. Here’s the story:
  45. Here’s something you probably don’t know about…
  46. Heck, you don’t even need…
  47. Here are some examples…
  48. However, the problem is…
  49. How can you beat that?
  50. Hang on to your seat because…
  51. Have you heard enough?
  52. Here’s what else I’ll do for you…
  53. How?
  54. I’m not kidding…
  55. If you think it’s nothing, think again…
  56. I know, you’re probably skeptical. Right?
  57. I can’t stress this enough…
  58. In the next 5 minutes…
  59. In truth…
  60. It all comes down to this…
  61. Just imagine…
  62. Just let this sink in for a minute…
  63. Let me ask you this question…
  64. Let’s face it…
  65. Look at it this way…
  66. Let me show you exactly how this works:
  67. Let me explain…
  68. Let me give you a bit of an idea of…
  69. Let me show you how dead serious I am…
  70. Let me be a bit more specific…
  71. Let me just quickly recap…
  72. Listen, I’m not kidding around…
  73. Now, you’re probably wondering…
  74. Now, tell me…
  75. OK, I’m nearly done, but…
  76. OK, let me repeat that…
  77. OK, I know what you’re thinking…
  78. OK. You might be asking…
  79. Reality is…
  80. Seriously, put some thought into this…
  81. Still not convinced?
  82. So instead of wishful thinking…
  83. So, here’s what else is in store for you…
  84. So hang on while I explain…
  85. Think about it…
  86. The fact is…
  87. The best part is that…
  88. To top it off…
  89. That’s just the tip of the iceberg
  90. There’s a saying…
  91. This is really cool…
  92. The result?
  93. Why?
  94. What does all this mean to you?
  95. What’s more…
  96. Want to see how it works right now?
  97. What makes this so special?
  98. Want proof?
  99. You see…
  100. You’re going to love this…
  101. Yes, you read that right…
  102. But, that’s not all…
  103. And now you can…
  104. So that is why…
  105. Or, if you prefer …
  106. Now — here is all you do…
  107. Better yet …
  108. More important than that …
  109. And in addition to that …
  110. When you first …
  111. Let me show you how …
  112. Within the next few days …
  113. You may wonder why …
  114. Here is the reason why …
  115. As you probably know …
  116. Now, here is the next step…
  117. So you’ll be glad to know …

Now put these to work…

Darren Hanser

Originally published at www.hansermarketingtips.com on March 10, 2015.

--

--