Using a Standing Desk: How Long Should You Stand?

Darren Sherwood
6 min readApr 8, 2024

--

Do you find yourself grappling with the simple question? I did, too, when I got my first standing desk a few years back. So, as I always do, I researched and experimented with the science behind standing desks, its impact on our health, and how to use them effectively.

In this post, I’ll share my insights and experiences to help you answer the all-important question. Stick with me until the end; you’ll learn some insightful tips.

Should You Sit or Stand at Work?

Should You Sit or Stand at Work?
Photo by Crew on Unsplash

As someone who has experienced sitting and standing at work, I realise both have pros and cons, and the choice is not a one-size-fits-all answer. In fact, I recommend neither solely.

When I started working from home, I spent most of my day sitting. Initially, it seemed comfortable. However, over time, I noticed discomfort in my lower back and felt less active more often. From further research, it was evident that prolonged sitting can lead to various health issues. So, I switched to a standing desk.

If you’re dealing with lower back pain. I wrote this helpful guide on how to sit with lower back pain that provides practical tips and techniques to maintain good posture and minimise discomfort while sitting.

Standing while working kept me alert and helped me maintain a better posture. I was more likely to move around, which increased my overall physical activity. It also alleviated the back discomfort I had experienced while sitting.

However, standing for long periods wasn’t without drawbacks. I noticed fatigue in my legs and feet. Further research also suggested that standing still for too long can lead to adverse health effects, such as varicose veins and increased pressure on the circulatory system.

The ideal solution? I experimented with a sit-stand desk to find balance. This allowed me to adjust my position based on how I felt at any given moment. Below, I’ll share the routine that boosted my productivity and overall health.

How Long Should You Stand at Work?

Finding the right balance between sitting and standing at work has been a journey. After reading various studies and recommendations from health professionals, I’ve settled on a schedule that seems to work well for me.

I aim to stand for about 15 to 30 minutes every hour. This way, I’m not on my feet for too long, which could lead to fatigue, but I’m also not sitting for prolonged periods, which can have its own negative health effects.

My Sit-Stand Schedule

Here’s a detailed look at my typical workday schedule:

  1. I start my day with a standing session right after breakfast, as I find it helps kickstart my metabolism and keeps me alert. I aim for 30 minutes to an hour, then take a short break to stretch.
  2. Next, I switch to a sitting position for another hour. This gives my legs a rest and allows me to focus on tasks that require more concentration. I maintain good posture and take short breaks to stand up and stretch every 20 minutes.
  3. Around lunchtime, I stand again for about 30 minutes to an hour. This helps digestion and prevents post-lunch slump, which is key to increased productivity.
  4. In the afternoon, I alternate between sitting and standing every hour, ideally with short breaks to move around. I try to take a break for a quick walk to keep my energy levels up.
  5. Towards the end of the day, I sit more, as I find my energy levels naturally start to dip. Ideally I would stand and stretch every 20 minutes to keep my muscles active and maintain good circulation, but honestly I don’t.

Remember, this is what works for me, and everyone is different. It’s essential to listen to your body and adjust your routine as needed. The key is to find a balance that prevents health complications and maximises your output throughout the day.

Pros and Cons of Standing at Work

Pros and Cons of Standing at Work
Photo by TheStandingDesk on Unsplash

In the previous sections, I mentioned some advantages and disadvantages of standing at work. I’ll reiterate them here to help you make a well-informed decision regarding whether standing suits your workplace or home office.

The Pros

  1. Increased Physical Activity: Standing burns more calories than sitting and can contribute to weight management.
  2. Improved Posture: Standing encourages better posture compared to sitting, which can lead to reduced back and shoulder pain.
  3. Reduced Risk of Health Issues: Standing can reduce the risk of health issues associated with prolonged sitting, such as obesity, cardiovascular disease, and diabetes.
  4. Boosted Energy and Mood: Standing helps keep you alert and energised, even boosting your mood.

The Cons:

  1. Discomfort and Fatigue: Standing for long periods can lead to discomfort and fatigue in the feet, legs, and lower back.
  2. Increased Risk of Other Health Issues: Prolonged standing can increase the risk of varicose veins and put extra pressure on the circulatory system.
  3. Reduced Concentration: For some tasks that require intense concentration, standing might be less ideal than sitting.
  4. Requires Adjustment Time: Transitioning to a standing desk involves a period of adjustment and may initially decrease productivity.

Remember, the key is not to sit or stand exclusively but to find a balance of both along with regular movement throughout your workday.

How to Use a Standing Desk?

How to Use a Standing Desk?
Photo by TheStandingDesk on Unsplash

Using a standing desk effectively involves several key steps to ensure comfort, productivity, and ergonomic support. Here are five essential tips based on my experience:

Tip #1 — Adjust the Desk Height

The first thing to do is adjust your standing desk to the correct height. While typing, your desk should allow your arms to rest comfortably at a 90-degree angle. The top of my monitor should be at or below eye level to avoid tilting your head up or down, which could strain your neck.

To find the ideal desk height, use a standing desk height calculator for an accurate range based on your height and position at the desk.

Tip #2 — Invest in a Good Mat

Standing on a hard surface can be tough on your feet and back, so invest in an anti-fatigue mat. This mat provides cushioning and helps to reduce the discomfort that can come from standing for extended periods.

It’s a simple addition that makes a significant difference. But that’s not all the accessories I use. Here’s a complete list of the sit-stand desk accessories that boosted my productivity and comfort.

Tip #3 — Wear Comfortable Shoes

I learned quickly that the type of shoes you wear can make or break your standing desk experience. Wear shoes with proper support that are comfortable for standing for long periods.

👟 Choose shoes that are lightweight, breathable, have good cushioning, and provide extra support when standing.

Tip #4 — Move Regularly

Just standing still can be as harmful as sitting for too long. So, make it a point to shift your weight from one foot to the other, take short walks, or do some light stretching occasionally. This movement helps improve circulation and keeps your joints from getting stiff.

Tip #5 — Listen to Your Body

Lastly, and most importantly, listen to your body. If you feel fatigued or sore while standing, don’t hesitate to lower your desk and sit for a while. It’s all about balance and finding what works best for you throughout the day. Some days, I stand more, other days less, and that’s perfectly okay.

Conclusion

How long you stand is a personal question that should be guided by your health needs, job requirements, and preferences. Typically, standing for 15 to 30 minutes each hour is appropriate. However, striking a balance between sitting and standing is the most beneficial approach.

By alternating between the two, you can reduce the discomfort associated with prolonged sitting while avoiding the fatigue that can come from standing for extended periods. I also highly recommend listening to your body to modify your sitting and standing patterns.

If you’re interested in exploring this topic further, find further insights in my article on expertEasy.

--

--

Darren Sherwood

With expertise in software, management, human factors and ergonomics, Darren leads teams of talented Software Developers, researchers, writers and editors.