Siddharth Das
5 min readMar 15, 2017

Goa: Shaded Grey for your Pleasure

Goa has always been my asylum for escapism, as the word “Goa” itself sparks a myriad of memories and emotions that are hard to describe. Full-moon parties, Hilltop Festival, open roads to break free and laid back shack action; a frequency that seduces your mind, body and soul.

2015 was a hectic year for me which is why I desperately needed to catch a break. January 2016, I squeezed in a short Goa trip during the long Republic Day weekend. But turns out so did everyone else from Mumbai and Delhi. I didn’t enjoy that trip and I told myself, “Some other time.”

In July, I quit my job. My pistons were fried and it was time for an engine tune up.

I was skeptical as I’d never been there during the monsoons. Asked a few friends if they’d join me, but all of them were unanimous in their reply. “All the shacks will be closed, bro!” “No party scenes” and so on.

After much contemplation, I decided on going solo.
Scored the cheapest bus ticket for 250/- and shelter at Wanderers Hostel (Morjim) for 4 nights at 600/-.

It might seem like any other hostel with graffiti upfront, but after spending some time here, you’ll keep coming back for more.

A meditation garden shrouded with palm trees, tents and a swimming pool.

What more could you ask for?

I’m not very religious, but my ideal place of worship would be something that helps me attain a moment of clarity. This humble abode of Buddha was more than promising.

DAY 1

I reached Goa in the evening and got drenched.

The sky turned into a mesmerising shade of grey that’d go well with a bottle of rum and seekh kebabs.

For an explorer and beach bum, Wanderers is strategically placed in the middle. Both Ashvem/Arambol and Vagator/Anjuna are equidistant.
Wanderers had a graffiti to prove it.

This place left no stone unturned to make it’s residents or “Scallywags” as they put it, to venture out into the unexplored Goa.

I decided to crash as I wanted to get an early start but not before trying out the local delight called Morpheus — named after the Greek God of Dreams.

Sweet dreams indeed.

DAY 2

I headed to the northernmost beach called Querim (Keri) beach.​ A quiet beach whose beauty lies in the clean white sand and strong sea breezes. Those seeking solitude will love it.

Since the weather was calm, I decided to try my luck at Anjuna for lunch.

For any psytrance aficionado, Anjuna has a special place in their heart. Especially Shiva Valley: The Temple of Trance and it’s spectacular full moon parties.

This is where the hippie culture blossomed during the 1960’s. A new genre of music was born here, called Goa trance which penetrates the tribe with a unified frequency that’s hard to describe. It’s one of those “YOU HAVE TO BE THERE” moments.

Only this time, I knew Anjuna wouldn’t welcome me with thumping bass lines and crispy cheese omelettes made by the beloved Chai Mamas there.

Still hungry as a dog, I decided to explore the narrow lanes of Anjuna to find something more substantial.

Goes without saying that I had to pop some Old Monk here like any true “Scallywag” should.

DAY 3

I entered what the Goans call as “Susegad” mode and decided to keep my rides short that day. The Sun was sparkling as I headed to Ashvem beach for breakfast. Luckily, I found a shack which was open for business.

Later, I decided to ride till Vagator to check out the view from Chapora.

Worked up an appetite by trekking up the Chapora fort…

As I wanted to devour on some fresh lobsters at The Mango Tree cafe.

DAY 4

I rode a distance of 120 kms from Morjim (North) to Dabolim(South) as I wanted to see the 3 Kings Church that promised a mind blowing view of South Goa.

Once you reach the top, you’re greeted with this sight which looks like a scene straight out of a Tim Burton movie. The eerie silence coupled with chilly weather and grey clouds does add to the mood.

And yeah, not a single soul except for a few haunted ones?

3 Kings had one of those magnificent views where you need to STOP, STARE and click a panoramic shot for your desktop wallpaper.

My trip was reaching it’s climax as it was time to catch my bus at Mapusa. But en route, I kept wondering whether this trip was worth it?

The one thing Goa always lured me into was riding a two wheeler into hidden roads and charming villages, on a full moon night. And I got plenty of that.

You realise that there is so much more to explore, when you find a view which is untouched and serene.

It’s these moments when you park your bike abruptly to get mesmerized by the hidden backwaters in all it’s glory. It’s after spontaneous trips like these that you’re filled with a renewed sense of energy and purpose.

Goa is not a place. It’s a state of mind that seduces you to keep coming back for more. It’s in these moments that you enter the “Goa State of Mind”